Origin (Ltd Ed 180gm Clear Vinyl)

Model: ZEN256X

SKU: 387747 Product ID: 909891

Format ‐ LP

Genre ‐ Electronic

Release Date ‐ 14/06/19


Add to Cart


    Soulful, intimate and expansive all at once, Jordan Rakei’s third album, Origin, cuts straight to the point, in every sense of the word. The melodies are brighter, the sound is bigger and the vision behind it more finely-tuned. Switching up from the highly personal and intimate portrait he painted with 2017’s Wallflower, which was a way of grappling with his experience of anxiety and introversion, Origin is overtly inspired by dystopian visions of our future - notably Charlie Brooker’s Black Mirror, Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale and David Lynch’s Twin Peaks.

    On Origin, Rakei has scaled up his ambitions, and is more confident in the way he goes about achieving them.  Making  tracks that speak more confidently, in brighter colours, and which deal with something bigger than himself. He channelled the classic songwriting and musicality of his heroes Stevie Wonder and Steely Dan, striving to surprise and delight with the form of his work, and always infusing it with the same effortless swing and human feel that he fell in love with listening to A Tribe Called Quest, Pete Rock and 9th Wonder.


    Primary Format - Music - Vinyl

    Artist - JORDAN RAKEI

    Label - Ninja Tune

    Music Genre - Electronic

    Music Genre Primary - Electronic

    Music Genre Secondary - Funk & Soul

Track Listing


  1. Mad World
  2. Say Something
  3. Minds Eye
  4. Rolling into One
  5. Oasis
  6. Wildfire
  7. Signs
  8. You & Me
  9. Moda
  10. Speak
  11. Mantra


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 237ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.