Mercury Demos, The (Limited Deluxe Vinyl Edition)

Model: 9029551915

SKU: 382101 Product ID: 908363

  + delivery from $4.99

  • Click & Collect?
    Not available for Click & Collect

Add to Cart


    Limited Deluxe Vinyl Edition!

    As part of the ongoing celebrations marking 50 years since David Bowie's first hit, 'Space Oddity', and following the recent 'Spying Through A Keyhole' and 'Clareville Grove Demos' collections, Parlophone is releasing a further set of recordings known as 'The "Mercury" Demos'.

    'The "Mercury" Demos' are 10 early Bowie recordings captured live in one take to a Revox reel to reel tape machine in David's flat in spring 1969, with accompaniment from John 'Hutch' Hutchinson on guitar and vocals.
    The version of 'Space Oddity' from the Demos, originally released with edits on the Sound & Vision boxset, is presented here in its true context for the first time. The other nine recordings on the album are all previously unreleased. In addition to  Bowie originals, the session also includes the Roger Bunn composition 'Life Is A Circus' (which features in an earlier demo version on the 'Clareville Grove Demos' set) and the Lesley Duncan composition 'Love Song' later recorded by Elton John for his 'Tumbleweed Connection' album. David's own 'Conversation Piece' is announced as 'a new song' and 'Janine' features a short nineteen second section sung to the melody of The Beatles' 'Hey Jude'.
    The session was a basic recording of the 'Bowie & Hutch' duo's set list at the time and was committed to tape at the request of Mercury Records A&R man Calvin Mark Lee who wanted the tracks to send them to his boss Bob Reno. Both Calvin and Bob are referenced during the 41-minute recording, and the demos were key in securing David his recording deal with Mercury Records.

    'The ''Mercury" Demos' set will come in a replica of the original tape box and will feature 1 LP, a print, two photo contact sheets and sleeve notes by Mark Adams. The labels of the LP feature the same EMIDISC acetate styling as 'Spying Through A Keyhole' and 'Clareville Grove Demos' with the song titles in David's own handwriting.

    David Bowie – vocals, guitar and Stylophone
    John 'Hutch' Hutchinson – vocals and guitar

    The LP is mono and plays at 33 1/3 r.p.m.


    Primary Format - Music - Vinyl

    Artist - DAVID BOWIE

    Label - Parlophone

    Music Genre - Rock

    Music Genre Primary - Pop & Rock

Track Listing


  1. Space Oddity
  2. Janine
  3. An Occasional Dream
  4. Conversation Piece
  5. Ching-a-Ling
  6. I'm Not Quite (aka Letter To Hermione)


  1. Lover To The Dawn
  2. Love Song
  3. When I'm Five
  4. Life Is A Circus


Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic Package A beautifully, if expensively, put together package. Fitting I think of the period that was Bowie on the cusp of what we all know now to be greatness. The dichotomy of “When I’m Five” and “Soace Oddity” on the same demo is testament. Love it despite the negative press.
Date published: 2019-08-06
  • y_2019, m_8, d_18, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1
  • loc_en_AU, sid_382101, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 212ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.