Cold Fact (Vinyl)

Model: LITA036LP

SKU: 240647 Product ID: 652921

Format - LP

Genre - Singer/Songwriter / Folk

Release Date - 29/09/11


  • Check Your Store
Add to Cart


    The Classic Album 'Cold Fact' By Rodriguez Is Finally Re-Issued With Digitally Remastered Sound For The First Time Ever!

    Want to know what all the fuss on Rodriguez is about? Then read on...

    There was a mini-genre of singer/songwriters in the late '60s and early '70s that has never gotten a name. They were folky but not exactly folk-rock and certainly not laid-back; sometimes pissed off but not full of rage; alienated but not incoherent; psychedelic-tinged but not that weird; not averse to using orchestration in some cases but not that elaborately produced. And they sold very few records, eluding to a large degree even rediscovery by collectors.

    Jeff Monn, Paul Martin, John Braheny, and Billy Joe Becoat were some of them, and Sixto Rodriguez was another on his 1970 LP, 'Cold Fact.'

    Imagine an above-average Dylanesque street busker managing to record an album with fairly full and imaginative arrangements, and you're somewhat close to the atmosphere. Rodriguez projected the image of the aloof, alienated folk-rock songwriter, his songs jammed with gentle, stream-of-consciousness, indirect putdowns of straight society and its tensions.

    Likewise, he had his problems with romance, simultaneously putting down (again gently) women for their hang-ups and intimating that he could get along without them anyway ("I wonder how many times you had sex, and I wonder do you know who'll be next" he chides in the lilting "I Wonder"). At the same time, the songs were reasonably catchy and concise, with dabs of inventive backup: a dancing string section here, odd electronic yelps there, tinkling steel drums elsewhere.

    It's an album whose lyrics are evocative yet hard to get a handle on even after repeated listenings, with song titles like "Hate Street Dialogue," "Inner City Blues" (not the Marvin Gaye tune), and "Crucify Your Mind" representative of his eccentric, slightly troubled mindset. As folk-rock-psych singer/songwriters with captivating non sequitur turns of the phrase go, he's behind Arthur Lee and Skip Spence, but he's worth your consideration if you go for that thing.


    Primary Format - Music - Vinyl

    Artist - RODRIGUEZ

    Label - Light In The Attic Records

    Music Genre - Singer/Songwriter / Folk

Track Listing


  1. Sugar Man
  2. Only Good For Conversation
  3. Crucify Your Mind
  4. Establishment Blues
  5. Hate Street Dialogue
  6. Forget It
  7. Inner City Blues
  8. I Wonder
  9. Jane S.Piddy
  10. Gommorah
  11. Rich Folks Hoax
  12. Like Janis


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 326ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. Products may have been sold below ticketed/advertised price in some stores prior to the discount offer.