Warumpi Band 4 Ever

Model: FEST601040

SKU: 804049 Product ID: 818172


  • Check Your Store
Add to Cart


    Iconic Aussie Indigenous rock band Warumpi Band are the subject of a new 2CD release entitled 'Warumpi Band 4 Ever,' out on Festival Records through Warner Music.
    Featuring acclaimed songwriter Neil Murray, renowned guitarist Sammy Butcher and fronted by the late George Rrurrambu - one of Australia's most charismatic frontmen - the Warumpi Band blazed a trail out of the Northern Territory in the early '80s, taking their message and their exciting sound to the whole nation. They were one of the first Indigenous bands to play the thriving national urban pub circuit and the first to get airplay for a song sung in language, with their much loved indie debut single "Jailanguru Pakarnu (Out From Jail)." They developed a close allegiance with the then biggest band in the country Midnight Oil; indeed it was the joint Warumpi Band/Midnight Oil 'Black Fella/White Fella' tour in 1986 that inspired the Oils' highly successful 'Diesel & Dust' album.
    In the '90s, Christine Anu took the Warumpis' beautiful "My Island Home" to the top of the charts and into the national consciousness, and a young Brisbane outfit named Powderfinger paid tribute to the Warumpis' influence with a rocking cover of "Black Fella/White Fella."

    The 2013 feature documentary on the late Warumpi Band front man, George Rrurrambu, 'Big Name No Blanket' featured at both the Melbourne and Sydney Film Festivals.

    'Warumpi Band 4 Ever' sees the band's three albums – 'Big Name, No Blanket,' 'Go Bush!' and 'Too Much Humbug' - remastered for the very first time, and supplemented by some non-lp material, including that original recording of "Jailanguru Pakarnu (Out From Jail)," a live recording from one of the band's last gigs of a never-before released song, and a handful of rocking covers that reveal their early energy. 

    The lavish 2CD package features numerous unpublished photos and includes liner notes by Neil Murray, author Clinton Walker and Midnight Oil guitarist Jim Moginie, as well as words from guitarist Sammy Butcher and testimonials from members of Powderfinger and the Medics, Dan Sultan and others.

    It is a belated but fitting tribute to a great Australian band; one that changed lives and had a substantial cultural impact on our country.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - WARUMPI BAND

    Label - Festival Australia

    Music Genre - Aboriginal

Track Listing

CD - BIG NAME NO BLANKETS (1985) / GO BUSH! (1987)

  1. Waru (Fire)
  2. Blackfella / Whitefella
  3. Breadline
  4. Nyuntu Nyaaltjirruku (What Are You Going To Do?)
  5. Animal Song
  6. Warumpinya (Papunya)
  7. Wima Tjuta (All The Kids)
  8. Fitzroy Crossing
  9. Mulga & Spinifex Plain
  10. Gotta Be Strong
  11. No Fear
  12. Jailanguru Pakarnu (Out From Jail)
  13. Yolngu Boy
  14. Secret War
  15. My Island Home
  16. Didjeridoo Blue
  17. Kintorelakutu (Towards Kintore)
  18. Tjiluru Tjiluru (Sad And Lonely)
  19. My Countryside
  20. Falling Down
  21. From The Bush


  1. Wayathul
  2. Stompin' Ground
  3. Makes You Feel
  4. Never Change
  5. Djulpan
  6. Stars
  7. Cold Weather
  8. Marrayilyil
  9. Joining My Life
  10. Koori Man
  11. Holdin' You In My Arms
  12. We Shall Cry
  13. Blackfella / Whitefella (Remake)
  14. Yaka Bayungu (live, Broome, 2000) (Bonus Track)
  15. Sitdown Money (Powderworks A-side, 1986) (Bonus Track)
  16. Jailanguru Pakarnu (Out From Jail) (Hot Records A-side, 1983) (Bonus Track)
  17. Route 66 (CAAMA cassette, 1983) (Bonus Track)
  18. It's All Over Now (CAAMA cassette, 1983) (Bonus Track)
  19. Promised Land (CAAMA cassette, 1983) (Bonus Track)
  20. Warumpi Rock (CAAMA cassette, 1983) (Bonus Track)


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Band, Top music I bought this Album after rediscovering Warumpi Band on Youtube. I first heard them back in the 80's. Their music totally rocks and evokes powerful memories of the Kimberley and the NT.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from warumpi band 4 ever l bought this cd unavailable in françe.nice australian e shop
Date published: 2016-03-25
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_2
  • loc_en_AU, sid_804049, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 31ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. Products may have been sold below ticketed/advertised price in some stores prior to the discount offer.