Something In The Water

Model: 7236919

SKU: 675530 Product ID: 799039

Format ‐ CD

Genre ‐ Alternative

Release Date ‐ 27/03/15

  + delivery from $1.69

  • Click & Collect?
    Not available for Click & Collect

Add to Cart


    'Something In The Water,' the new dozen-song set from Pokey LaFarge marks a new landmark in a career that's already filled with musical highlights. The St. Louis-based singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist draws from a deep well of American musical traditions to create distinctively personal music that's timeless rather than retro, transcending the confines of genre in a manner that reflects the artist's openhearted attitude. 

    Incorporating elements of early jazz, ragtime, country blues, Western swing, and beyond, LaFarge has created a vibrant, deeply expressive body of work that embodies an expansive musical vision and vivid storytelling sensibility that are wholly his own.  He's also earned a reputation as a tireless, uniquely charismatic live performer, winning a loyal international fan base that regularly packs his rousing, celebratory live shows. 

    'Something in the Water' finds the artist doubling down on his established creative strengths, expanding and deepening his musical reach on such new originals as the wry, rollicking title track, the swaggering ragtime workout "Wanna Be Your Man," the infectiously jazzy "Underground," the evocative instrumental "Cairo, Illinois," the exotic ballad "Barcelona" and the swinging album-closer "Knocking the Dust off the Rust Belt Tonight," whose witty lyrics underline the album's proudly Midwestern sensibility.  Also featured are fresh, buoyant takes on popular blues standards "When Did You Leave Heaven" and "All Night Long."


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - LAFARGE, POKEY

    Label - Rounder Records

    Music Genre - Alternative / Folk / Americana

    Music Genre Primary - Alternative

    Music Genre Secondary - Folk

Track Listing


  1. Something in the Water
  2. Wanna Be Your Man
  3. Underground
  4. When Did You Leave Heaven
  5. Cairo, Illinois
  6. Actin' a Fool
  7. All Night Long
  8. Goodbye, Barcelona
  9. Far Away
  10. The Spark
  11. Bad Girl
  12. Knocking the Dust Off the Rust Belt Tonight


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 247ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.