Factory Floor

Model: PIASL098CD

SKU: 444192 Product ID: 757047

Format - CD

Genre - Alternative

Release Date - 06/09/13


  • Check Your Store
Add to Cart


    'Factory Floor' is the self titled debut album of the electronic London-based trio. The self-titled album was recorded in the band's North London warehouse space and recorded by themselves in their tiny studio (on a vintage mixing desk originally used by Dave Stewart three decades ago to record all of the Eurythmics' early hits). It is a vivid snapshot of a progressive band, still in the ascendant, smashing through yet another ceiling. It opens with "Turn It Up" their most minimal track to date. They are reduced to the core trio of elements: mass, velocity and momentum – mixed in astonishing detail by Timothy 'Q' Wiles, an LA based producer who has previously worked with VCMG and Afrika Bambaataa. It also features a pitched down voice demanding to know: "Where is a good place to start?" The listener should start with the immense volume that the title demands. Good speakers and even better headphones reveal a hidden world of deep listening behind the minimal frame of agitated percussion, dub echo and bass rumble, beneath the austere framework of the track.

    "Here Again" is almost (but not quite) their pop song. Gabe calls it their "Ibiza track" and Nik claims she was channelling Michael Jackson when she wrote it. It's hard to tell who has tongue planted firmer in cheek. What is does contain is cascading arpeggios, counterbalanced with synth melody lines, plaintive vocals almost demanding to pour from Fabric's sound system and a rhythm that literally won't quit.

    The album contains the definitive version of "Two Different Ways"; the muscular and sleek "Fall Back"; "How You Say" is the sound of New York's dance underground (ESG & Delta Five) rebooted for a near future inner city digital versus analogue battle; "Work Out" is anything but, despite the desultory title, it is in fact sinister street sound electro; and ‘Breathe In' is funkified acid disco.

    This is music stripped to the bone. This is functionality raised to an art form. Skin expertly flayed from a living animal reveals glistening bone cage, throbbing organs, aching metres of nerve, pulsing veins and arteries, twitching muscle and taut viscera. The organisation of noise laid bare for anyone who dares look.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - FACTORY FLOOR

    Label - Mushroom

    Music Genre - Alternative

Track Listing

Disc 1

  1. Turn It Up
  2. Here Again
  3. One
  4. Fall Back
  5. Two
  6. Two
  7. Two Different Ways
  8. Three
  9. Work Out
  10. Breathe In


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 275ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. Products may have been sold below ticketed/advertised price in some stores prior to the discount offer.