Maximum Rock 'N' Roll: The Singles

Model: 19075933802

SKU: 379478 Product ID: 905989


Add to Cart


    Over the past three and a half decades, Primal Scream have embraced everything from psychedelic pop to degenerate rock'n'roll; euphoric rave to industrial gloom.

    They have made records with George Clinton and Kate Moss, invited Mani of the Stone Roses and Kevin Shields of My Bloody Valentine into the fold, survived narcotic oblivion, personal trauma and the death of beloved guitarist Robert "Throb" Young, and captured the mood of the nation several times over.

    Throughout it all, they have always sounded like Primal Scream. And they have always made great singles.

    Opening with the jangly melodic rush of 'Velocity Girl', 'Maximum Rock 'N' Roll: The Singles' is a celebration of a vital catalogue of songs from a band who have always pushed the boundaries of their sound. There's rock 'n' roll infused with gospel and soul in 'Movin' On Up', the Stonesy strut of 'Rocks' and industrial-funk in the shape of 'Kill All Hippies'. And that freewheeling attitude never stopped, as evidenced by the anthemic garage-rock meets vintage R&B of 'Country Girl' and the creativity of the songs taken from their most recent album, 2016's 'Chaosmosis'.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - PRIMAL SCREAM

    Label - Sony

    Music Genre - Alternative

    Music Genre Primary - Alternative

Track Listing


  1. Velocity Girl
  2. Gentle Tuesday
  3. Imperial
  4. Ivy Ivy Ivy
  5. Loaded
  6. Come Together
  7. Higher Than the Sun (The Orb Mix) [Remastered]
  8. Don't Fight It, Feel It (7" Edit) [Remastered]
  9. Movin' on Up
  10. Rocks
  11. Jailbird
  12. (I'm Gonna) Cry Myself Blind
  13. Kowalski
  14. Star
  15. Burning Wheel
  16. Swastika Eyes
  17. Kill All Hippies (Brendan Lynch Edit) [Remastered]


  1. Accelerator
  2. Miss Lucifer
  3. Autobahn 66
  4. Some Velvet Morning
  5. Country Girl
  6. Dolls (Sweet Rock and Roll)
  7. Sometimes I Feel So Lonely
  8. Can't Go Back
  9. Uptown
  10. 2013
  11. It's Alright, It's OK
  12. Goodbye Johnny
  13. Where the Light Gets In
  14. 100% or Nothing


Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real rock’n’roll journey ! If your little brother or sister just discovered rock'n'roll then you need to get them a copy of this album to introduce them to this amazing band ! Covering their singles from 1982 to now - for longtime fans it’s great to have all these songs in order and together (many were not available in Australia) - and the inclusion of the singles artwork in the accompanying booklet is fantastic. Technically not all of the songs are rock'n'roll as Primal Scream have if anything changed their style continuously throughout their career. It starts off early 80’s indie pop, but eventually progresses to their psychedelic and dance/rock stage when they peaked, moving on to EDM/rock (hello Chemical Brothers) and then finishes on some trad rock tracks. A real rock’n’roll journey !
Date published: 2019-07-18
  • y_2019, m_8, d_18, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1
  • loc_en_AU, sid_379478, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 11ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.