Model: 5419612722

SKU: 545116 Product ID: 774047

  + delivery from $1.69

  • Click & Collect?
    Not available for Click & Collect

Add to Cart


    Melbourne based troubadour Harry Hookey releases his debut album "Misdiagnosed".

    Hookey's twelve track debut album was recorded with his friend, producer and mentor Nash Chambers.   Hookey entered Chambers' Foggy Mountain Studios with the intention to record some demos, but the tracks came together so effortlessly, it was decided after the first evening to record the album instead.   You can hear that spirit in every cut on the album: this is the sound of musicians playing in a room together, excited by the possibilities.

    They also had a guardian angel watching over them all the way from 1965. This angel took the form of Cowboy Kate, the seductive muse of acclaimed international fashion photographer Sam Haskins.  The poster, purchased by Hookey from a second hand market in Melbourne was hung in the studio for inspiration and it seems only fitting that the same shot that inspired Hookey, now graces the album's sleeve.

    "It became a running theme throughout the recording: is it good enough for Cowboy Kate? Every song had to live up to her," says Hookey.

    He adds, "I'm mainly from a folky background. I'm a big fan of the early Dylan records, a bit of Woody Guthrie, early Neil Young, Joni Mitchell, all that sort of stuff. That's what I grew up listening to and then branched out into rock, and then found country a bit later with Hank Williams. I think my music's a reflection of all those tastes, all mixed together," he says, "somewhere between James Taylor and Nirvana." The result of that unique mesh of influences is Misdiagnosed.

    Hookey's not a man who likes to stand still and, remarkably, the songs on the album are not old chestnuts worn smooth by the road. Misdiagnosed is a result of recent inspiration, some of which only came to life as the process progressed.

    That's exemplified in first single, Man on Fire, which went from barely an idea to becoming the album's agenda-setting opening track.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - HOOKEY, HARRY

    Label - Warner

    Music Genre - Alternative

    Music Genre Primary - Alternative

Track Listing

Disc 0

  1. 1.Man On Fire
  2. 2.Sometimes
  3. 3.Where I'll Be Found
  4. 4.Misdiagnosed
  5. 5.Something To Die For
  6. 6.Rolling Wheel
  7. 7.Audrey's Song
  8. 8.Let Me Die (In Loving Arms)
  9. 9.Lovin' Touch
  10. 10.Vanishing Act
  11. 11.Come and Go
  12. 12.Last True Believer


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing CD with music that stir the soul Harry Hookey is an amazing singer songwriter, The new Bob Dylan!!
Date published: 2018-05-13
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1
  • loc_en_AU, sid_545116, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 233ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.