Stravinsky / Bartok: Ballet Music

Model: 4840180

SKU: 381987 Product ID: 908381

Format ‐ 2CD

Genre ‐ Classical

Release Date ‐ 10/05/19

  + delivery from $1.69

  • Click & Collect?
    Not available for Click & Collect

Add to Cart


    Stravinsky's ground-breaking trilogy of Diaghilev commissions plus a scandalous Bartók ballet, treated to sumptuous late-70s Decca engineering and the Vienna Philharmonic sound.

    Christoph von Dohnányi has long been considered one of the most versatile conductors of our time, making a name for himself in particular with the works of Romanticism and the Second Viennese School. From early in his career he established an excellent rapport with the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, and both in concert and on record drew from them playing of unusual transparency and clean attacks in music from Mendelssohn to Philip Glass.

    This generous Eloquence compilation of four complete Decca LPs finds Dohnányi on home turf, with ballets by his countryman Bartók and by Stravinsky that leap from the speakers thanks to both the conductor's vivid characterisation and to first-class Decca analogue sound. Petrushka and The Miraculous Mandarin (complete with chorus) were taped in the Sofiensaal in 1977, with The Firebird following two years later. In the same 1979 sessions Dohnányi and the VPO also recorded the pair of Portraits which the young Bartók wrote while in love with the violinist Stefi Geyer: the solo part here is played with luscious tone by the native-Viennese violinist Erich Binder, then leader of both the VPO and the Bayreuth Festival Orchestra.

    The Diaghilev trilogy is completed with Lorin Maazel's 1974 VPO recording of The Rite of Spring, done in the grand manner and with the conductor's typical attention to detail and fine balancing of inner parts.

    'Dohnányi's direction of The Miraculous Mandarin… is clean, precise and often beautiful... The playing of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra is radiantly beautiful, helped by a spacious recording. Erich Binder is a first-class soloist in the Portraits.' The New Penguin Stereo Record Guide
    'Dohnányi directs a genial and well-paced reading… revealing the Vienna Philharmonic as a band very sympathetic to repertoire not normally associated with it.' The New Penguin Stereo Record Guide (Petrushka)

    Dohnányi's opulent reading goes delightfully counter to the antiseptic dissections that have all too often come to pass for insightful performances; having chosen such an approach, he hardly could have done better than record with the Vienna Philharmonic. The orchestra plays beautifully, with particularly gorgeous contributions from the first oboe and horn in their ubiquitous solos' - Fanfare, May/June 1981 (Firebird)


    Primary Format - Music - CD


    Label - Eloquence / Decca

    Music Genre - Classical

    Music Genre Primary - Classical

Track Listing


  1. IGOR STRAVINSKY (18821971) - L'Oiseau de feu The Firebird (1910 version)
  2. IGOR STRAVINSKY (18821971) - Le Sacre du printemps The Rite of Spring (1921 version)


  1. IGOR STRAVINSKY (18821971) - Petrouchka Petrushka (1947 version)
  2. BÉLA BARTÓK (18811945) - Two Portraits, Sz. 37 (Op. 5)
  3. BÉLA BARTÓK (18811945) - The Miraculous Mandarin, Sz. 73 (Op. 19)


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 278ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.