Model: 5419700636

SKU: 630009 Product ID: 880092


Add to Cart


    For her 12th studio album 'Campfire,' iconic Australian singer songwriter Kasey Chambers takes us back to her earliest musical influences.

    "I think I've wanted to make this album my whole life," Kasey says. "I grew up with such a unique childhood living on the Nullarbor Plain with my family for the first 10 years of my life. We did all of our cooking on open fire - my dad hunted for our food and then mum would put it in the camp oven. After we'd eaten, my dad brought out the guitar and we'd all sit around this campfire and play music together. For this album I wanted to bring people to the campfire that was such a big part of my life when I was growing up."

    'Campfire' sees Kasey backed by The Fireside Disciples, a collective featuring guitarist Brandon Dodd of Grizzly Train, Kasey's musician father Bill Chambers and Broome musician and Yawuru elder Alan Pigram. As well as being influenced by her family's time living in the Australian outback, Campfire draws on three other significant locations in Kasey's growth as an artist.

    "Australia, Africa, Norfolk Island and America are the places and cultures that have most influenced me," Kasey says. "I can honestly say my first visit to Africa in 1998 changed my life - I just felt this beautiful connection in Africa and the music affected me so much, it got into my heart and soul. When I came back from Africa I was spending a lot of time living on Norfolk Island and I made my debut album The Captain there, so this was a huge influence on my life as well. I have also spent many years touring in America and being very connected to that country, both musically and creatively. All four of these big influences in my life have been put into an album, now everyone is invited to come and sit and listen to us jam songs around the campfire, this place that has been such a big part of my life."

    A revered live performer, Kasey Chambers' shows on her forthcoming Campfire tour will feature songs and stories from each of the album's four influential locations. The intimate shows will be sure to captivate audiences across Australia thanks to Kasey's unique presence and vivid performances.


    Primary Format - Music - CD


    Label - Warner

    Music Genre - Country

    Music Genre Primary - Country

Track Listing


  1. The Campfire Song
  2. Go On Your Way
  3. Orphan Heart
  4. Goliath Is Dead
  5. Abraham
  6. Early Grave
  7. The Harvest & The Seed
  8. Big Fish
  9. Junkyard Man
  10. Now That You've Gone
  11. This Little Chicken
  12. The Fox & The Bird
  13. Happy


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Campfire - New album from Kasey Chambers Really like the new album from Kasey Chambers. More low key than usual but some down to earth rootsy music that is very enjoyable. Excellent musicianship from Kasey, The Fireside Disciples and The Little Pilgrims. Also a great track featuring Emmylou Harris.
Date published: 2018-05-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another great Kasey album You really get to feel as if you are sitting around a campfire with good mates sharing great tunes onvthussslbum. Also has a real African influence on one of the songs
Date published: 2018-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of all Bought for Xmas & haven’t stopped listening to love every track
Date published: 2018-12-30
  • y_2019, m_2, d_15, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_3
  • loc_en_AU, sid_630009, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 239ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.