Primitive Technique

Model: VSNCD002

SKU: 407861 Product ID: 433572

Format - CD

Genre - Drum & Bass

Release Date - 03/05/13


  • Check Your Store
Add to Cart


    While The Upbeats may explain their choice of album title with the humble statement "We're not super tech geeks, we've always felt our approach to production is quite simple." Anyone who knows anything about this duo's music can tell you that the end results sound far from primitive. The cheeky-grinned New Zealanders have filled dance floors and iPod playlists around the world with their unique take on drum & bass for nearly a decade, yet their music is sounding fresher than ever; as their impressive new album is about to prove.

    From the tough opening gambit that is 'Beyond Reality' to the hip hop-infused 'Bass Drop' – the first of two tracks featuring American super-MC Armanni Reign – it's clear from the outset that 'Primitive Technique' is taking no prisoners. 'Monogram' offers up the more melodic side of The Upbeats' musical machinations, while 'Thrasher' ft. Trei throws you straight into the deeper, darker side of drum & bass. Halfway through 'Primitive Technique' The Upbeats slow down with 'Interval,' an expansive slice of soulful ambience that provides a perfectly placed breathing space.

    From there the loose drum arrangement of 'Falling Into Place' offers a gentle build into the album's second single 'Alone' ft. Tasha Baxter, another testament to The Upbeats' ability to explore fresh aspects of drum & bass, offering an enveloping wash of 172bpm beauty. Another short interlude in the form of 'Castles' provides room for The Upbeats great crescendo 'Tangerine' ft. Dose, 'Retrograde' and 'Undertaker' three devastating chunks of heavy D&B that will shake bassbins and rattle ear drums the world over.

    'Primitive Technique' is an album that caters to many but compromises for no one, and with techniques that may be primitive The Upbeats have crafted an album that sounds undeniably modern.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - UPBEATS, THE

    Label - EMI

    Music Genre - Drum & Bass

Track Listing

Disc 1

  1. Beyond Reality
  2. Drum Stop feat. Armanni Reign
  3. Diffused
  4. Again I feat. Armanni Reign
  5. Monogram
  6. One Step
  7. Thrasher feat. Trei
  8. Interval
  9. Falling Into Place
  10. Alone feat. Tasha Baxter
  11. Castles
  12. Tangerine feat. Dose
  13. Retrograde
  14. Undertaker


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 247ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. Products may have been sold below ticketed/advertised price in some stores prior to the discount offer.