Next Of Kin

Model: ACE066

SKU: 288729 Product ID: 578592

Format ‐ CD

Genre ‐ Urban & Hip Hop

Release Date ‐ 28/10/11

  + delivery from $1.69

  • Click & Collect?
    Not available for Click & Collect

Add to Cart


    THE LAST KINECTION are an Indigenous hip hop trio made up of brother and sister WENO (vocals/producer & second year med student) and NAY (vocals), as well as DJ JAYTEE. NAOMI WENITONG (NAY) was one half of R&B Pop group SHAKAYA and signed with a major multinational label at the age of 16, quickly climbing the ARIA charts and selling platinum singles and a debut album. JOEL WENITONG (WENO) and JACOB TURIER (JAYTEE) were on the rise as part of the infectious group LOCAL KNOWLEDGE (Music Oz?s Best Indigenous Artist and Best Group in 2005). THE LAST KINECTION was then formed, and the adventures of the inspired trio began. THE LAST KINECTION have performed at festivals nationally, including THE SYDNEY FESTIVAL, STYLIN' UP FESTIVAL, WOOFORD and GROOVIN' THE MOO, and were invited by PAUL KELLY to appear on the "CANNOT BUY MY SOUL - TRIBUTE TO KEV CARMODY" compilation, and play tribute shows in Sydney and Brisbane. The band toured with THE HERD in 2008, and went on to sign to the same label, ELEFANT TRAKS (THE HERD, HERMITUDE, URTHBOY, JOELISTICS, SIETTA) in 2010. They cleaned up at 2011 DEADLY AWARDS, winning BEST SINGLE and BEST BAND titles. "Next Of Kin" is one of 2011's most important records: one of defiance, laughter and reflection - sharp lyrics bringing an Indigenous experience into focus with a blazing set of banging hip hop. High profile MCs join them, including TRIALS (Funkoars) and BRIGGS from the GOLDEN ERA LABEL, THE HERD'S OZI BATLA, RIVAL MC from IMPOSSIBLE ODDS, LOTEK and OMAR MUSA. SIMONE STACEY, Nay's former partner in SHAKAYA, appears on the lead single "Are We There Yet?". Created following a horrific 2008 car accident (Nay was pronounced dead before Joel noticed the blanket covering her move slightly. Since then she's gone from staring down the prospect of never walking or talking again, to making songs with a perfect storm of power and melody.


    Primary Format - Music - CD


    Label - Elefant Traks

    Music Genre - Hip Hop

    Music Genre Primary - Urban & Hip Hop

Track Listing

Disc 1

  1. Introduction
  2. Find a Way
  3. Together ft.Omar Musa
  4. Burning Bridges ft. Briggs
  5. Millions of People
  6. Talk About It ft. Trials
  7. 1995 ft. Ozi Batla
  8. The Strong Remain ft. Rival MC
  9. Yawar-Gu
  10. Are We There Yet? ft. Simon Stacey
  11. Prove Them Wrong
  12. Happy People ft. Lotek
  13. So Bad
  14. So Good
  15. Do This
  16. Small Stuff
  17. Undone


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 249ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.