Capitol Studios Sessions, The

Model: 6792593

SKU: 345965 Product ID: 897030


Add to Cart


    Debut Album From The Legendary Jeff Goldblum!

    Hollywood icon and jazz pianist Jeff Goldblum and his long-time band The Mildred Snitzer Orchestra, unveil their highly anticipated debut album 'The Capitol Studios Sessions!'

    Goldblum, who has been playing the piano since he was a child, has performed with his jazz band at venues in Los Angeles and New York City over the past few decades. When he's not filming, the actor hosts a weekly jazz variety show at LA's Rockwell Table and Stage. Frequented by locals and A-listers alike, the show intersperses Goldblum's love of jazz with his passion and skills at improvised comedy.

    The atmosphere and energy of these shows is captured perfectly on this album, which Jeff credits to producer Larry Klein (Joni Mitchell, Herbie Hancock, Madeleine Peyroux). For the recording, Larry recreated the buzz of The Rockwell at the legendary Capitol Studios.

    Further, the album is the realization of this idea: jazz and standards presented in a manner that dares to be high-spirited and to make you feel good. The repertoire includes favourite '60s jazz numbers 'Cantaloupe Island' and 'I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel To Be Free)', the 1940s classic 'Straighten Up & Fly Right' with guest vocals from Irish superstar singer and songwriter Imelda May, 'My Baby Just Cares For Me' from 1930, featuring American songstress Haley Reinhart and the 1920s song 'Me And My Shadow' sung by US comedian and actress, Sarah Silverman. The band are joined by the extraordinary Grammy-nominated trumpeter Till Brönner.

    "...without doubt the coolest man in Hollywood" – GQ Magazine

    Recorded in front of a live studio audience at Capitol Studios in Los Angeles and produced by multi- Grammy wining Larry Klein (Joni Mitchell, Herbie Hancock, Madeleine Peyroux, Melody Gardot), 'The Capitol Studios Sessions' features guest stars including Imelda May, Haley Reinhart and Sarah Silverman.


    Primary Format - Music - CD


    Label - Decca

    Music Genre - Jazz

    Music Genre Primary - Jazz

    Music Genre Secondary - Pop & Rock

Track Listing


  1. Cantaloupe Island
  2. Don't Mess With Mister T (feat. Till Bronner)
  3. My Baby Just Cares For Me (feat. Haley Reinhart)
  4. Straighten Up And Fly Right (feat. Imelda May & Till Bronner)
  5. Jeff Introduces Sarah Silverman (feat. Sarah Silverman)
  6. Me And My Shadow (feat. Sarah Silverman & Till Bronner)
  7. Nostalgia In Times Square
  8. It Never Entered My Mind (feat. Till Bronner)
  9. Gee Baby (Aint I Good To You) (feat/ Haley Reinhart)
  10. I Wish I Knew (How It Could Feel To Be Free)
  11. This Bitter Earth (feat. Imelda May & Till Bronner)
  12. Come On-A-My House (feat. Imelda May & Till Bronner)
  13. Caravan (feat. Till Bronner)
  14. Good Nights


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like Jazz Good range, picked up on via the Graham Norton show, otherwise would never have known how good Jeff Goldblum is.
Date published: 2018-12-28
  • y_2019, m_6, d_18, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1
  • loc_en_AU, sid_345965, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 210ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.