onwards and upwards

Model: ACT9885

SKU: 384426 Product ID: 908779

Format ‐ CD

Genre ‐ Jazz

Release Date ‐ 24/05/19

  + delivery from $1.69

  • Click & Collect?
    Not available for Click & Collect

Add to Cart


    SHALOSH. It means 'three' in Hebrew. It is the name of a piano trio but also denotes a lot more than that. For the three Israeli musicians Gadi Stern, David Michaeli and Matan Assayag, SHALOSH is more than just a band, it is a lifetime's project.

    Or as Stern puts it, "SHALOSH is not just a band, it's an idea."

    In this way, SHALOSH's music reflects the band's home city of Tel Aviv: it is colourful and tolerant, but impetuous too. There are boundaries to be tested, there is exuberance to be celebrated, but in the meantime the calming sea is ever-present.

    "onwards and upwards" conveys this sense of vitality through the real lives of three young men in Israel. It is an album which expresses joy in a postmodern way. It constitutes a statement that life goes on and that the world we live in does too.

    And that the same is true of music. Naturally.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - SHALOSH

    Label - Act Music

    Music Genre - Jazz

    Music Genre Primary - Jazz

Track Listing


  1. After the War
  2. Children of the 90's
  3. Meditation
  4. You'll Never Walk Alone
  5. The Impossible Love Story of Jackie and Hanan
  6. Sinan, and His Never Ending War Against the Bureaucracy Robots
  7. Take On Me
  8. Tune for Mr. Ahmad Jamal
  9. Lullabye
  10. Onwards and Upwards


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 288ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.