Wolf God

Model: NB47542

SKU: 381776 Product ID: 907017


Add to Cart


    The riff gods are back!

    A little more than two years have passed since the great 'Sword Songs' album was released, but Grand Magus can never quench their thirst for action. Accordingly, the Heavy Metal giants started to develop new songs as fast as possible after their last record.

    Singer and guitarist JB points out their new way of working: "We decided to let go of the current philosophy to record drums first and then bass and then guitar etc. This time, we met up, jammed and created together during the last six months with the goal to record basic tracks live."

    Something, lovers of little details will realize, yet Grand Magus haven't lost their basic philosophy.

    'Wolf God' rises over the Heavy Metal scene majestically and lets the guitar riffs speak for themselves. The groove and heaviness that were featured on the successful predecessor can also be found on the new, ninth studio album which once again holds a number of future classics. This is joined by a superbly-placed JB whose voice hovers emotionally and variably over the strong and memorable instrumentals.

    The band's new method of recording fits perfectly with their overall sound. By letting the music flow naturally the band have managed to craft melodies, riffs and rhythms that unite to forge overwhelming yet memorable hymns, which will find their place in the throne room of Metal history.

    Recorded in Sweetspot Studio in Sweden, together with producer Staffan Karlsson (Arch Enemy, Firewind, Spiritual Beggars), the corner stone was laid for another triumphal procession. As the majority of the songs were recorded on the first take, they have an honest, diverse and yet down-to-earth sound that envelops the trio's true power.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - GRAND MAGUS

    Label - Nuclear Blast

    Music Genre - Metal

    Music Genre Primary - Metal

Track Listing


  1. Gold And Glory
  2. Wolf God
  3. A Hall Clad In Gold
  4. Brother Of The Storm
  5. Dawn Of Fire
  6. Spear Thrower
  7. To Live And To Die In Solitude
  8. Glory To The Brave
  9. He Sent Them All To Hel
  10. Untamed


Rated 4 out of 5 by from More metal than a junkyard full of metal. For those familiar with this Swedish three piece you know what you’re getting, epic, traditional heavy metal topped off by one of the genres finest vocalists in Janne ‘JB’ Christoffersson. If you’re not familiar with this band, see above. Wolf God is business as usual, some highlights such as Brother Of The Storm and To Live And Die In Solitude mixed in with more generic tracks. For potential new fans I would recommend you start with earlier albums such as Hammer Of The North and Wolf’s Return. If doom is more to your liking check out the excellent Monument, though at the end of the day any and every Grand Magus album is highly enjoyable.
Date published: 2019-05-31
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1
  • loc_en_AU, sid_381776, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 211ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.