Beyond The Sun (Collectors Edition)

Model: 2784694

SKU: 288276 Product ID: 716982

Format ‐ CD

Genre ‐ Pop & Rock

Release Date ‐ 07/10/11


Add to Cart


    The accurately titled 'Beyond the Sun' is a self-described labour of love. Since he fell in love with his parents' 45s as a child in Stockton, California, this passionate writer/artist has been obsessed with the glory days of Memphis' Sun Studio and the visionary artists who got their starts there - including Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison, Carl Perkins and Jerry Lee Lewis, all of them discovered and nurtured by Sam Phillips. Isaak's longstanding desire to musically salute his inspirations was fast-tracked when he read a 2000 interview with the great Sun Records producer Sam Phillips that appeared in the Oxford American. Near the end of the Q&A, Phillips was asked if any contemporary recording artists grabbed his attention. His response blew Chris away. "I don't keep up with the business like I used to," said Phillips, "but I love to listen to Chris Isaak. He's very talented, and his music is so damned honest. It's incredible." That pretty much sealed the deal for this Sun worshiper. Now, at long last, Isaak magically recaptures the transformative brilliance of the classic sides cut by these greats at Sun with Phillips during the mid-'50s, while also getting down to the nitty-gritty of his own deeply rooted musical identity. Many well loved hits are covered with Great Balls of Fire, Can't Help Falling In Love, I Walk The Line, Ring of Fire and Pretty Woman, along with many songs that have that equally familiar feel but are perhaps less well-known like Miss Pearl, I Forgot To Remember To Forget and Dixie Fried. Isaak has also recorded an original song, the downright rockin' and jivin' Live It Up. . The Deluxe version features 9 additional tracks plus a 20 page booklet that includes the linear notes and photos.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - ISAAK, CHRIS

    Label - Universal

    Music Genre - Pop

    Music Genre Primary - Pop & Rock

Track Listing

Disc 1

  1. Ring of Fire
  2. Trying to Get To you
  3. I Forgot To Remember To Forget
  4. Great Balls Of Fire
  5. Can't Help Falling In Love
  6. Dixie Fried
  7. How's The World Treating You
  8. Now or Never
  9. Miss pearl
  10. Live It Up
  11. I Walk The Line
  12. So Long I'm Gone
  13. She's Not You
  14. My Happiness
  15. My Baby Left Me
  16. Pretty Woman
  17. Doin' The Best I Can
  18. True Love
  19. Crazy Arms
  20. Everybody's In The Mood
  21. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Cry
  22. Love Me
  23. Doncha' Think It's Time
  24. That Lucky Old Sun
  25. Great Balls of Fire - Westlake Version
  26. My Baby Don't Love Me No More (Chris Original)
  27. Bonnie B


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.