Chapter Seven

Model: SFR0009

SKU: 456169 Product ID: 761539

Format ‐ CD

Genre ‐ Pop & Rock

Release Date ‐ 01/11/13

  + delivery from $1.69

  • Click & Collect?
    Not available for Click & Collect

Add to Cart


    Damien’s story thus far is familiar to millions. He won the affection of a nation through the vehicle of reality TV, and enjoyed multiple platinum-selling albums on a major record label.

    Damien’s new chapter is a story of independence, and a new direction.

    The Irish-born troubadour recorded Chapter Seven in a studio he built himself. The result is an honest and poetic collection of beautifully crafted songs that showcase Damien’s vocals and song writing skills like never before. What’s more, this time Damien takes control on the recording and production front too.

    “I’ve never been this strongly involved on all sides of a project, from the writing, the production, the mixing; everything,” Damien says. On Chapter Seven, Damien showcases the artist he has become. “I wanted positive songs,” he explains. “In the album I cover a lot of different themes, love, loss and everything in between. But I’ve tried to approach them from a more positive outlook. It’s true to the style people know me for.” The album has a mix of ballads and up-tempo songs. And Damien is in good voice with his trademark falsetto. “There’s a good balance running through the whole album. It has an acoustic feel, but has big songs as well.  I love that I can strip back any song to guitar and it still sounds just as good”.

    And he’s brought some influential friends into the picture. Famed producer and sound engineer David Nicholas – who has worked with luminaries from Elton John to INXS - mixed the album, and co-produced some of the tracks. Other great hit makers such as Gary Clark (Natalie Imbruglia, The Wanted, The Veronicas) and Jon Vella (Meatloaf, Ricky Martin) came on board to add their touch to the album along with, Joe Melson, the songwriting legend who co-penned Roy Orbison’s “Only the Lonely” and “Crying”. Damien and Joe have been writing together for some time now and two of their new songs feature on this album. ‘It’s been an absolute honour to work with Joe whose become a close friend and mentor’.

    Naturally, Damien has been drawing inspiration from The Big O, the artist who served as a creative well for his hit 2010 album Roy – A Tribute to Roy Orbison. That said the main inspiration behind the album came from his studio and from experimenting with sounds and working away in a new creative space. A lot came through that process. I honed in on the essence of my sound, trying to get the best out of my voice and spending a lot of time on the lyrics and moulding them to my voice. There are different chants, and “moments” in the songs, which are really special.

    A notable family-man, Damien’s decision to return to the independent music world was made at home. Chapter Seven is released through a relationship with Social Family Records, and it’s had the blessing from Damien’s family. “Going independent is a big decision. It doesn’t just affect me but my wife and kids. Without (Damien’s wife) Eileen’s support it wouldn’t be possible to go in this direction. We all need to be united and feel this is something we want. Eileen is the driving force saying, ‘you can do it.’ And I think that’s brilliant.”

    Damien admits he’s in seventh heaven. “I’m absolutely thrilled with it. There’s a sound that runs through the entire album and it’s my sound.” All the elements are in place for Damien to crash through the next phase of his brilliant career. Chance and good fortune are also covered. The number 7, explains Damien with a smile, “it’s my lucky number.”


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - LEITH, DAMIEN

    Label - Gryphon

    Music Genre - Pop

    Music Genre Primary - Pop & Rock

Track Listing

Disc 1

  1. Time to Go
  2. Last Sad Song
  3. Halfway Heart
  4. I can stop you crying
  5. You and I
  6. See You Again
  7. Without A Fight
  8. Never Forget
  9. Stronger than Superman
  10. Faith in Me
  11. Million Reasons
  12. Lonely Nights


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.