Model: BLUE1622

SKU: 240163 Product ID: 462960

Format ‐ CD

Genre ‐ Pop & Rock

Release Date ‐ 04/10/08


  • Delivery
    Not available for delivery

Add to Cart


    "It was a time of real excitement. Nothing was guaranteed. The negotiation with Sony was in its infancy. There was no money. Everything was in limbo. But what we were doing up at The Lemon Tree Hotel felt fantastic."

    The year was 1987 and Daryl Braithwaite was officially off the radar. Missing In Action was one aptly named duo he fleetingly formed after Sherbet ended its monumental arc across the Oz pop skyline. His stunning rebirth as a multi-platinum solo artist was four years away. THE LEMON TREE is a belated record of that time and spirit, when the demobbed pop star retired to a Melbourne pub with pianist Dale Kruse to perform songs, old and new, in the most honest, emotional and elemental way they could find. Over five days in the winter of '08, Daryl and Dale revisited that acoustic chemistry in the studio with another long-standing comrade, guitarist David Campbell. The result is a potent distillation of all phases of Daryl's stellar career, sung by an iconic voice at the peak of its power. Dale and David's impeccable harmonies reveal an exceptional musical empathy, honed over 15 years of acoustic gigs. In true band spirit, the frontman also insisted on sharing the spotlight: Dale sings lead on the Eagles' My Man, and David performs his own I Haven't Met You Yet. With the sparing addition of David's soulful harmonica and the occasional bass of Chris Bekker, THE LEMON TREE sparkles with the energy and immediacy of a unique and very intimate live performance.

    "I don't get very nostalgic personally," says Daryl. "I'd always rather move forward but it surprised me how comfortable it felt. I really wanted to keep it simple and I'm glad I went with my gut instinct on that. As a representation of what we do, it couldn't have turned out better."


    Primary Format - Music - CD


    Label - Liberation

    Music Genre - Pop

    Music Genre Primary - Pop & Rock

Track Listing

Disc 1

  1. As The Days Go By
  2. Rise
  3. Free The People
  4. Higher Than Hope
  5. These Days
  6. Howzat
  7. The Horses
  8. You're My World
  9. My Man
  10. One Summer
  11. I Haven't Met You Yet
  12. Old Sid
  13. Waters Rising


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 224ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.