THE COMPLETE '68 COMEBACK SPECIAL (40th Anniversary) (4 CD Set)

Model: 88697306262

SKU: 237906 Product ID: 696661


  • Check Your Store
Add to Cart


    During a career of invention and re-invention the'68 Comeback Special is perhaps THE pivotal performance of Elvis' career. He was back from the movie career that had kept him away from the live arena throughout most of the 60's and what's more he looked and sounded amazing. To celebrate the 40th anniversary we are releasing the Complete '68 Comeback Special, a box set that features the whole story from the rehearsals to the finished show, outtakes and rarely heard gems. Deluxe Edition - 4 disc box set including over 103 songs, CD sized Box with text foil stamped lift off lid. Each disc is housed in mini LP style wallets with a 36 page booklet. This album contains 8 previously unreleased tracks.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - PRESLEY, ELVIS

    Label - Sony...

    Music Genre - Rock n Roll


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elvis: The Complete '68 Comeback Special This is the very first pressing of the legendary TV special Elvis gave in 1968! Released in 2008, this was the first time we had the complete TV special, presented beautifully as a 4-CD deluxe box set. So let's start with the set is a black foil wrapped box, highlighting red and silver...and is not that much bigger than a standard CD jewel case actually. As you lift the lid off, you have a red ribbon, and underneath are the booklet (on top) and the 4 CD's beneath...each in their own mini LP style jackets. The discs all have the same design, but each one has a different colour. The 32page booklet is beautiful! With brand new liner notes, rare photographs, behind the scenes information, stories, full track listing for every disc, and recording information. The first disc is the original LP of 'Elvis: NBC TV-Special' with the inclusion of 5 extra tracks that were not on the original release. These include the master remakes of It Hurts Me, Let Yourself Go and A Little Less Conversation, and we also get the stereo mixes of Memories and If I Can Dream! The second disc contains the complete June 27th 6pm Sit Down Show, and the complete June 29th 6pm Stand Up Show. Disc 3 contains the complete June 27th 8pm Sit Down Show, and the complete June 29th 8pm Stand Up Show. The last disc features all the dressing room rehearsals on both June 24th and 25th. Elvis was back to reclaim his throne after his absence from the music scene for so many years, and this set takes you on the journey that Elvis made to do just that. If you don't own this set....get it quickly because this is the very first pressing and has been long out of print!
Date published: 2016-09-25
  • y_2017, m_2, d_27, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1
  • loc_en_AU, sid_237906, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. Products may have been sold below ticketed/advertised price in some stores prior to the discount offer.