Anthology, The

Model: 5353276

SKU: 607495 Product ID: 785206


Add to Cart


    James Reyne has enjoyed a distinguished solo career, releasing ten solo albums from his 1987 self-titled debut through to his most recent offering, 2012's 'Thirteen'. New collection 'The Anthology' is a salute to an artist who has long earned the respect of music critics and the admiration of fans for his unique lyrics, trademark vocal, authenticity and honesty.

    'The Anthology' is a 2 CD, 35 song set showcasing this career – from 'Fall Of Rome' and 'Hammerhead' through to 'Slave', the chart-topping 'Way Out West' with James Blundell, and the Company Of Strangers hit, 'Motor City (I Get Lost'). The package is a boon for fans, featuring new liner notes from James, alongside unseen photos and complete lyrics.

    Given James's remarkable success as a solo artist - with multi-platinum sales and three top ten ARIA albums - 'The Anthology' is a long overdue collection of some of the finest Australian recordings of the last three decades. James Reyne says, "I've been working as a singer, musician and songwriter for a while now, and feel that it may only be that I've started to grasp how it all works relatively recently. I know I'm a better craftsman now than I was, so welcomed the idea of this Anthology/retrospective of my solo stuff. The first CD includes all the solo "hits" that I've had, but most importantly to me, provides a threshold to the later and more recent songs; tunes that many would never have heard. They are culled from the albums 'The Whiff Of Bedlam', 'Design For Living', 'Speedboats For Breakfast', 'Every Man A King', and 'Thirteen' and I hope, provide an insight into what I've really been up to."


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - REYNE, JAMES

    Label - Universal

    Music Genre - Rock/Pop

    Music Genre Primary - Pop & Rock

Track Listing


  1. Fall Of Rome
  2. Hammerhead
  3. Motor's Too Fast
  4. Always The Way
  5. One More River
  6. House Of Cards
  7. Harvest Moon
  8. Five Miles Closer To The Sun
  9. Wake Up Dead Man
  10. Slave
  11. Any Day Above Ground
  12. Outback Woman
  13. Water Water
  14. Some People
  15. Take A Giant Step
  16. Way Out West
  17. Motor City (Company Of Strangers)


  1. Red Light Avenue
  2. Day In The Sun
  3. It's Only Natural
  4. Poor Man In The Penthouse
  5. Design For Living
  6. I Don't Get Out Much Anymore
  7. Little Criminals
  8. Reno
  9. Nothin's Too Good For My Baby
  10. Reckless (Acoustic)
  11. Bug
  12. The Rainbows Dead End
  13. Sammy And Doofus And Our Man In New York
  14. Superannuated Idol
  15. Stop Draggin' My Name Around
  16. English Girls
  17. Capsize
  18. Good Clean Fun


Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALL THE HITS This album showcases the best song writing and musical craftsmanship from one of Australia's best talents - James Reyne. Beginning from his debut album in 1987 with a massive 5 singles reaching the top 20, with Fall Of Rome, Hammerhead etc. Highlighting his career with hit radio songs like Slave, Some People, House Of Cards, One More River, along with career highlights Red Light Avenue, Bug, Reno and later material well worth the attention.
Date published: 2017-01-29
  • y_2019, m_5, d_20, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1
  • loc_en_AU, sid_607495, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 252ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.