L.A. Woman (40th Anniversary Edition)

Model: 8122797551

SKU: 294379 Product ID: 716085

Format - 2CD

Release Date - 03/02/12


  • Check Your Store
Add to Cart


    The L.A. WOMAN 40th Anniversary Edition features a never-before-heard song, "She Smells So Nice," which captures the band - organist RAY MANZAREK, guitarist ROBBY KRIEGER, drummer JOHN DENSMORE and late singer JIM MORRISON- joyfully barreling through a full-throttle original before segueing into the blues standard "Rock Me". As the song closes, Morrison can be heard chanting, "Mr. Mojo Risin'"- an anagram of his name that was made famous during the bridge of "L.A. Woman". Bruce Botnick, the album's co-producer with the band, recently made the discovery while reviewing the L.A. Woman session tapes. In addition to "She Smells So Nice", the second disc of the L.A. WOMAN reissue includes eight never-before-heard versions of songs from the album. Alternate takes of "L.A. Woman," "Love Her Madly" and "Riders On The Storm" offer a fresh view on this landmark album, which was the group's sixth straight Top 10. The studio chatter between the songs is a revelation, transporting listeners to The Doors Workshop: the West Hollywood rehearsal space where they recorded the album with Botnick. One segment in particular captures a fascinating moment of inspiration when Morrison suggests they add the now-iconic thunderstorm sound effects to the beginning of "Riders On The Storm".


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - DOORS, THE

    Label - Rhino

    Music Genre - Rock

Track Listing

Disc 1

  1. The Changeling
  2. Love Her Madly
  3. Been Down So Long
  4. Cars Hiss By My Window
  5. L.A. Woman
  6. L'America
  7. Hyacinth House
  8. Crawling King Snake
  9. The WASP (Texas Radio and the Big Beat)
  10. Riders On The Storm

Disc 2

  1. The Changeling - Alternate Version
  2. Love Her Madly - Alternate Version
  3. Cars Hiss By My Window - Alternate Version
  4. L.A. Woman - Alternate Version
  5. The WASP (Texas Radio and the Big Beat) - Alternate Version
  6. Been Down So Long - Alternate Version
  7. Riders On The Storm - Alternate Version
  8. She Smells So Nice
  9. Rock Me


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 531ms
  • bvseo-msg: Thread was being aborted.Execution timed out, exceeded 500ms;
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • bvseo-msg: Thread was being aborted.Execution timed out, exceeded 500ms;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. Products may have been sold below ticketed/advertised price in some stores prior to the discount offer. All advertised pricing excludes Sydney International Airport store.