Mental As Anything At Play

Model: 7738469

SKU: 358054 Product ID: 901877


Add to Cart


    Once upon a time, a group of art students passed themselves off as a band in order to con the local publican into giving them a gig in exchange for free beer. 
    The deception worked better than intended with the group receiving beer in return for music and came to be known as Mental as Anything. 
    Four decades later, they are still irritating the public with their highly listenable, idiosyncratic brand of garage pop and to celebrate, the band convened late in 2018 to record a live album; Mental As Anything – At Play. 

    An eighty minute blitz through an unparalleled string of hits – Too Many Times, Live It Up, Mr Natural, The Nips Are Getting Bigger, If You Leave Me Can I Come Too… the list goes on – all brilliantly crafted pop hits that evoke wonderful memories.

    Their 25 Top 40 charting songs were, for a long time, a record for an Australian band and are a wonderful illustration of the depth of their catalogue and their song-writing ability. 

    They are captured here in this new live recording.


    Primary Format - Music - CD


    Label - Legends

    Music Genre - Rock

    Music Genre Primary - Pop & Rock

Track Listing


  1. Too Many Times (Live)
  2. Lets Cook (Live)
  3. Berserk Warriors (Live)
  4. Spirit Got Lost (Live)
  5. Date With Destiny (Live)
  6. The Luckiest Player (Live)
  7. Come Around (Live)
  8. Live It Up (Live)
  9. Folsom Prison Blues (Live)
  10. If You Leave Me Can I Come Too (Live)
  11. Shake Off Your Sandals (Live)
  12. Lets Go To Paradise (Live)
  13. Mr Natural (Live)
  14. Goat Tracks (Live)
  15. Mountain Of Love (Live)
  16. Hes Just No Good For You (Live)
  17. Concrete And Clay (Live)
  18. Just Like Romeo And Juliet (Live)
  19. Youre So Strong (Live)
  20. The Nips Are Getting Bigger (Live)
  21. Working For The Man (Live)
  22. Dance With You (Beautiful) (Live)
  23. The Rise And Fall Of Flingel Bunt (Live)
  24. We Get To Kiss (Live)


Rated 4 out of 5 by from Put A Smile On Your Dial Mental As Anything have always been one of Oz's premier party bands and they shine on this live collection, at 24 tracks you get a stack of classics next to some recent over looked gems. The playing is tight and the sound is resonable though it does miss Martin Plaza's unmistakable vocals on tracks like "Concrete And Clay" and "The Nips Are Getting Bigger" though Greedy holds it together pretty well overall. Loses one star because of the awful packaging, it comes in a cardboard sleeve like the old cd singles.
Date published: 2019-02-01
  • y_2019, m_8, d_18, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1
  • loc_en_AU, sid_358054, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 453ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.