Sweet Action! The Ultimate Story (Deluxe CD Edition)

Model: 88875129652

SKU: 833603 Product ID: 819001


Add to Cart


    In the early 1970's, under the wings of hit makers Mike Chapman and Nicky Chinn (Smokie / MUD / Racey / Suzi Quatro a.o.), Sweet, with Brian Connolly, Mick Tucker, Steve Priest and Andy Scott rose to global fame with an almost never ending line of hits – eight of which became number ones.

    Songs like "The Ballroom Blitz," "Teenage Rampage," "Wig Wam Bam," and "Hell Raiser," to name just a few, made Sweet to enduring cult stars of the rock scene. Not just because of the glam and glitter boom of the time, which the band dominated like no others, but also because of their musical quality, excellent album productions and especially their thrilling live shows.

    "Without The Sweet there would not have been a Kiss" (Gene Simmons)

    "Mötley Crüe always wanted to be Sweet" (Nikki Sixx)

    "This is the band I wish I had been in" (Joe Elliot, Def Leppard)

    To this day the Sweet theme "Satisfaction Guaranteed" is true to each one of the sell-out Sweet concerts which are virtually celebrated by mastermind Andy Scott. Now Sweet are celebrating their 40th anniversary of one of their greatest ever hits "Action" and released a new best of that, at last, tells the ultimate Sweet story from the very beginning to today, also under the same motto: 'Action! The Ultimate Story.'

    Including their number one hits, and all the famous classics like "Fox On The Run," "Blockbuster!" or "The Six Teens," together with the highlights from the years after the tragic death of Brian Connolly up to the current line-up led by Andy Scott.

    And even after 40 years, 'Action!' is by no means the end of the line, as can be heard on the brand new song "Defender" that celebrates its premiere exclusively on this album. A perfect rock tune with a phenomenal chorus in the classic harmony style of Sweet, just made to be a radio favourite that will stick to you all day long.

    This Deluxe CD Edition  not only features a comprehensive booklet and several bonus tracks, but also yet another brand new Sweet hit "Still Got The Rock."


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - SWEET

    Label - Sony

    Music Genre - Rock

    Music Genre Primary - Pop & Rock

Track Listing


  1. Action
  2. Turn It Down
  3. Lost Angels
  4. Wig Wam Bam
  5. Little Willy
  6. Peppermint Twist
  7. The Ballroom Blitz
  8. New York Groove
  9. Natural
  10. Call Me
  11. Reach Out I'll Be There
  12. Defender
  13. The Six Teens
  14. Into The Night
  15. Yesterday's Rain
  16. Do As I Say
  17. Laura Lee
  18. Love Is Like Oxygen
  19. Fox On The Run


  1. Teenage Rampage
  2. Burn On The Flame
  3. Set Me Free
  4. Cockroach
  5. Hell Raiser
  6. Blockbuster
  7. Windy City
  8. Sweet F.A.
  9. Stairway To The Stars
  10. 4th Of July
  11. Everything
  12. Sixties Man
  13. Do It All Over Again
  14. Lady Starlight
  15. Poppa Joe
  16. Co-Co
  17. Funny Funny
  18. Fever Of Love
  19. The Lies In Your Eyes
  20. Still Got The Rock


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Secret track! This is a very comprehensive compilation of all Sweets hits. But the best thing is it has a secret bonus track! After track 19 on CD 1, unlisted track 20 plays. It starts with more than a minute of silence then launches into a thumping dance remix of Fox on the Run
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comprehensive Song Titels Great compilation of all the singles The Sweet have ever released. Hidden track at the end of disk one was a nice bonus for fans. Attractive cover art and liner notes. Very nicely packaged. Remastered analog to digital was very good. Better than average remasters. By the way, gender is a linguistic function not biological scientific descriptor.
Date published: 2019-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sweet action ultimate story i bought that cd a month ago its cool cd love the songs
Date published: 2017-04-21
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_3
  • loc_en_AU, sid_833603, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 265ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.