You Be The King


SKU: 330969 Product ID: 891656

Format ‐ CD

Genre ‐ Pop & Rock

Release Date ‐ 22/08/18

  + delivery from $1.69

  • Click & Collect?
    Not available for Click & Collect

Add to Cart


    Rock collective, Dirty Rascal release their highly anticipated debut album 'You Be The King!'

    The albums' first single, 'Be A Lion' will be released same day and go straight to radio!  This track was written by Simon McSweeney about his love for his sons and is playful, a bit cheeky and has a humble, selfless message.

    "'Be A Lion' is about living life to the fullest and encouraging others to do the same. The sentiment of the song reflects the philosophy of the band that success can be achieved by working without ego to a common vision" – Jerry Speiser

    Dirty Rascal hail from Melbourne and came together back in 2017 around 'You Be The King', the brainchild of Andrew McSweeney exploring his songwriting and producing sensibilities. Andrew wrote all the tracks for the album with the exception of 'Rolling Thunder' written by Peter McGeehan, 'What Would Love Do' co-written with Jerry Speiser and the single 'Be A Lion' written by Simon McSweeney.

    'You Be The King' has overtones of country rock, folk and blues. Produced by Jerry Speiser and recorded under the skilled ear of Callum 'The Calibrator' Barker, at Newmarket studios in Melbourne, the songs began to shine. A powerhouse engine-room, overlaid with double guitars and lush vocal harmonies all combine seamlessly to carry these memorable melodies. Infectious hooks, tireless grooves bring the vulnerability of real and relatable stories from pen to the heart to life.

    "Recording the album 'You Be The King' was a challenging and transforming experience. I was challenged as a songwriter and a singer and, through the process, gained a greater vision of who we are and what we can do as band" – Andrew McSweeney


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - DIRTY RASCAL

    Label - Only Blues Music

    Music Genre - Rock

    Music Genre Primary - Pop & Rock

    Music Genre Secondary - Blues & Roots

Track Listing


  1. Be A Lion
  2. What Would Love Do
  3. Ease and Grace
  4. Self Made Man
  5. Shockwaves
  6. Things In Between
  7. Rolling Thunder
  8. Two Fires
  9. Smiling Heart
  10. No Compromise


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 260ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.