Paper Doors

Model: MSP-003-C002

SKU: 969606 Product ID: 835912

  + delivery from $1.69

  • Click & Collect?
    Not available for Click & Collect

Add to Cart


    Charismatic Melbournian, singer songwriter Felix Riebl, is set to release his second solo album 'Paper Doors,' on My Shore Productions via Kobalt Label Services.

    'Paper Doors' is collection of ten elegant and inspiring songs, kicking off with two focus tracks, the energetic "Shadows," and the gentler, melodic style of "In Your Arms," with the magnetic Martha Wainwright. It features a stunning cover image created by world-renowned and awarded illustrator, Eiko Ojala.

    With 'Paper Doors' Felix makes the rare quiet spaces and simple still places add up to something rare and special.  After years of navigating the surreal, body-trashing banality, and momentary bliss of tour life as co-founder and long-time front man of The Cat Empire, he's peering over his shoulder to re-glimpse the experience.

    'Paper Doors' features three duets - "Wasting Time" (with Little Birdy's Katy Steele), the aforementioned "In Your Arms" with Martha Wainwright, and "Snowflakes" with Tinpan Orange's Emily Lubitz. Arriving one after another, in the wake of the infectious build of the opening title track, each duet brings something new and special to Riebl's own performance.

    "They all bring something out which is special to me. When I'm able to sing really quietly, the presence of a female character adds some sparkle and character that brings another timbre in my own voice."

    Felix Riebl might be standing still for a moment, but the jury's already in: 'Paper Doors' stands ready to take us on a wonderful journey.

    "I've spent lot of my life in a very strange timezone: this album re-traces some of those steps and finds music and broken language in the smaller details, without trying to make sense of anything. That's a very distinct and quite fantastic feeling."


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - FELIX RIEBL

    Label - My Shore Productions / Kobalt

    Music Genre - Singer/Songwriter

    Music Genre Primary - Pop & Rock

    Music Genre Secondary - Folk

Track Listing


  1. Paper Doors
  2. Wasting Time
  3. Snowflakes
  4. In Your Arms
  5. Out Where You Are
  6. All I Can Say
  7. Shadows
  8. Crocodiles
  9. Ecstasy
  10. Wager


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the five year wait between albums Something rather different from Felix's last album, Into the Rain (2011), but equally brilliant. Some very catchy tunes, like the intricate Snowflakes and the anthemic All I Can Say which is chased up with the rocky Shadows. Favourite track? It changes with every listen. Buy it!
Date published: 2016-09-24
  • y_2019, m_8, d_17, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1
  • loc_en_AU, sid_969606, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.