I'm In A Dancing Mood - The Best Of

Model: 5144224252

SKU: 208324 Product ID: 495599


Add to Cart


    It's nearly 30 years since Camilleri originally joined the Falcons of Wayne Burt and Jeff Burstin (both ex-Rock Granite) on guitars, John Power (from the Foreday Riders and Company Caine) on bass and former Daddy Cool drummer Gary Young - to record a version of 'Run Rudolph Run' as a Christmas single produced by Ross Wilson. Even by that stage Camilleri was a local veteran, having played with mid-60's R&B band the King Bees, then the Adderly Smith Blues Band (which allegedly sacked him for sounding too much like Mick Jagger), Lipp and the Double Dekker Brothers, The Sharks and The Pelaco Brothers (with Stephen Cummings). After recording the albums 'Don't Waste It' and 'Whip It Out', the mini-albums 'Loud and Clear' and 'So Young' (the title of which was covered by Elvis Costello) for Oz Records, the band - and its shifting cast of players - found themselves at Mushroom Records. By this stage Wayne Burt, one of the nations' great songwriters even then, had left - to be replaced by Tony Faehse (who had played in Alvin Stardust's band) - and the composing duties were thrown over to Camilleri and his colleagues. Soon afterwards, the ebullient Wilbur Wilde, who had been an integral member of Ol' 55, also joined the band. The label move also teamed Camilleri up with producer Peter Solley who oversaw the hit singles 'Hit & Run', 'Shape I'm In' and 'All I Wanna Do' and the albums 'Screaming Targets' (1979), 'Hats Off Step Lively' (1981) and the 'Dexterity' mini-album (1981). The band toured overseas and even got to play at the Montreux Jazz and Blues festival.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - JO JO ZEP & THE FALCONS

    Label - Festival

    Music Genre - Soul

    Music Genre Primary - Funk & Soul

Track Listing

Disc 1

  1. So Young
  2. All I Wanna Do
  3. Shape I'm In
  4. Puppet On A String
  5. Hit & Run
  6. I'm In A Dancing Mood
  7. Losing Game
  8. Taxi Mary
  9. Security
  10. Don't Wanna Come Down
  11. I Will Return
  12. The Honey Dripper
  13. Dancing Shoes
  14. Girl Across The Street (Just Turned 18)
  15. Young Girl
  16. Walk On By
  17. Sherrie
  18. Nosey Parker


Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beware some tracks are not original studio version I was looking forward to hearing my favorite Jo Jo Zep song 'So Young' blasting out of the speakers when I put the CD in my car only to be very disappointed to hear a live inferior version instead. There are several live versions of other songs as well. Avoid if you want to hear the originals as I did.
Date published: 2016-10-24
  • y_2019, m_5, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1
  • loc_en_AU, sid_208324, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 213ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.