Soul Of A Woman

Model: DAP-050CD

SKU: 507740 Product ID: 870226

  + delivery from $1.69

  • Click & Collect?
    Not available for Click & Collect

Add to Cart


    Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings' final studio album, 'Soul of a Woman' is a lush, orchestral masterpiece. A true testament to the life and career of Daptone's fearless leader and one of the world's greatest performers.

    In the year prior to her death from pancreatic cancer in 2016, Sharon Jones toured and performed tirelessly, and was also the subject of Miss Sharon Jones!, an acclaimed documentary by Oscar-Winning director Barbara Kopple. Yet somehow, the beloved and heroic soul singer found time to complete a studio album.

    'Soul of a Woman' features eleven songs which reveal that the emotion, dynamics, and drama of Jones' voice remained at full power until her final days.

    The songs on 'Soul Of A Woman' exemplify two distinct sides of the band’s sound.

    Side One showcases grittier, bluesier material like "Matter Of Time" and "Sail On!," giving Sharon the room to flex her vocal prowess and creating a "liveness" that few studio albums posses.

    Side Two takes on a more sophisticated orchestral mood. Tracks like "When I Saw Your Face" and "These Tears (No Longer For You)," capture a soft vulnerabilit y in Sharon's vocals that draws you deep inside, and yet they remain nuanced with the signature toughness that never allow
    you to forget she's steering the ship. The finished product is an album that captures a band and a singer at their peak.


    Primary Format - Music - CD


    Label - Daptone

    Music Genre - Soul

    Music Genre Primary - Funk & Soul

Track Listing


  1. Matter Of Time
  2. Sail On!
  3. Just Give Me Your Time
  4. Come And Be A Winner
  5. Rumors
  6. Pass Me By
  7. Searching For A New Day
  8. These Tears (No Longer For You)
  9. When I Saw Your Face
  10. Call On God


Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sharons soul Loved Sharon Jones music for a long time , very saddened by her passing and found this album very much a deeper reflective production . Great music , Live on Miss Sharon Jones an the Dap Kings .
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lasting legend Sharon Jones last album is a beautiful and everlasting remembrance of a great artist. Sharon Jones and the Dapp kings will be sadly missed but for ever played.
Date published: 2017-12-21
  • y_2019, m_7, d_16, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_2
  • loc_en_AU, sid_507740, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 289ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.