O Brother, Where Art Thou? (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

Model: 2748927

SKU: 287815 Product ID: 440260

Format - 2CD

Release Date - 26/08/11


  • Pick Up?

Add to Cart


    It has been a decade since one of the most unlikely successes in music history was released. O Brother, Where Art Thou? is one of the 10 top-selling soundtracks of all time (according to the RIAA), the No. 1-selling soundtrack and the 17th biggest album of the 21st Century, with more than nine million albums sold. In Australia the album is on the cusp of double platinum sales.

    On August 26th, Universal will celebrate this 10th Anniversary with an expanded two-CD set, O Brother, Where Art Thou? - Deluxe Edition, with legendary original producer T Bone Burnett personally involved in all aspects of this release. The album that rocketed bluegrass, roots and even Americana music from the 20th Century into the new millennium features a 17-track bonus disc. Thirteen of these newly-released songs were recorded during original sessions for the film, and all except "Cow Road" and "In The Highways" went unheard on-screen. This release marks the first time these tracks have been made available in any format. Produced by 12-time GRAMMY Award- and Academy Award-winner T Bone Burnett, the original O Brother, Where Art Thou? soundtrack from the 2000 film-written, directed and produced by the Coen Brothers and starring George Clooney-shot to No.1 on the Billboard Top 200 and Country charts and became a bona fide music phenomenon, despite scant radio airplay. Along with ALBUM OF THE YEAR honors, the album won GRAMMYs for "I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow" performed by Dan Tyminski, Harley Allen and Pat Enright, and "O Death" by the legendary Dr. Ralph Stanley.

    The second disc of the O Brother, Where Art Thou? - Deluxe Edition features artists who appeared on the original album (John Hartford, Norman Blake, the Fairfield Four, the Cox Family and the Peasall Sisters) plus some who did not (Colin Linden, Alan O'Bryant, Ed Lewis and Van Dyke Parks). The disc's previously recorded tracks are a pair from Duke Ellington, "Tom Devil" by Ed Lewis and the Prisoners, and "I'll Fly Away" by the Kossoy Sisters. The music from O Brother, Where Art Thou? spawned an award-winning hit album and a groundbreaking Nashville concert. The resulting documentary film of that show, Down From The Mountain, led to another GRAMMY -winning album and a sold-out U.S. tour. A decade later, this landmark album, alternate versions of many of its songs, and other recordings from the film have been brought together for the first time to introduce new fans to this great music and reward longtime fans with a new treasure trove of musical gems from the original sessions.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - SOUNDTRACK

    Label - Universal

    Music Genre - Soundtrack

Track Listing

The Original O'Brother Where Art Thou

  1. Po' Lazarus - James Carter and prisoners
  2. Big Rock Candy Mountain - Harry McClintock
  3. You Are My Sunshine - Norman Blake
  4. Down To The River To Pray - Alison Krauss
  5. I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow - The Soggy Bottom Boys
  6. Hard Time Killing Floor Blues - Chris Thomas King
  7. I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow - Norman Blake
  8. Keep On The Sunny Side - The Whites
  9. I'll Fly Away - Alison Krauss & Gillian Welch
  10. Didn't Leave Nobody But The Baby - Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss & Gillian Welch
  11. In The Highways - Sarah, Hannah, and Leah Peasall
  12. I Am Weary, Let Me Rest - The Cox Family
  13. I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow - John Hartford
  14. O Death - Ralph Stanley
  15. In The Jailhouse Now - The Soggy Bottom Boys
  16. I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow - The Soggy Bottom Boys
  17. Indian War Whoop- John Hartford
  18. Lonesome Valley - Fairfield Four
  19. Angel Band - The Stanley Brothers

Bonus Disc Unreleased Tracks

  1. Hard Time Killing Floor Blues - Colin Linden*
  2. You Are My Sunshine - Alan O'Bryant*
  3. Tishamingo County Blues - John Hartford*
  4. Mood Indigo - Duke Ellington
  5. Cow Road - T Bone Burnett*
  6. I'll Fly Away - The Kossoy Sisters
  7. Big Rock Candy Mountain - Van Dyke Parks*
  8. Admiration - Duke Ellington
  9. Tom Devil - Ed Lewis and the Prisoners
  10. Keep On The Sunny Side - The Cox Family*
  11. Angel Band - Sarah, Hannah, and Leah Peasall*
  12. Big Rock Candy Mountain - Norman Blake*
  13. Little Sadie - Norman Blake*
  14. In The Highways - The Cox Family*
  15. That Hog's Foot Further In The Bed - John Hartford*
  16. The Lord Will Make A Way - Fairfield Four*
  17. In The Jailhouse Now - Harley Allen*

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. Products may have been sold below ticketed/advertised price in some stores prior to the discount offer.