Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Booker's Guitar

PLU: 888072317567
Format - CD
Genre - Blues & Roots
Release Date - 12/02/10

Not yet reviewed.

Eric Bibb's latest release Booker's Guitar is a soulful, heartfelt effort which is the closest studio sound recording yet, to how Eric performs on the majority of his live dates - solo acoustic, with just vocals and guitar & Grant Dermody accompanying Eric on harmonica on around half of the tracks on this rich new album. The story behind this project is as legend-worthy as Robert Johnson at the 'crossroads'...! A traveling musician has a chance encounter in the most unlikely of places with something mystical and powerful, and everything changes. So it was for itinerant troubadour Eric Bibb one night in a London hotel after a gig, when he was approached by a fan carrying a guitar case. Inside was a relic that made the hair on the back of hisneck stand on end: a 1930s vintage Resophonic National steel guitar that had belonged to Delta blues legend Booker [Bukka] White. [Mississippi born, White - an older cousin to B.B. King - was a respected Delta blues singer/slide guitarist who recorded many sides between 1930 & 1940. He was imprisoned in Memphis in 1937 for allegedly shooting a man, and sent to the notorious Parchman Farm]. The encounter inspired the album's title track, which Bibb recorded in England using White's guitar. The remaining tracks, although recorded in rural Ohio,sprang from the same well of inspiration. "I really wanted to make a complete document on my connection to the Delta blues. I felt like this guitar finding its way to me was a signal that I hadjourneyed far enough to be able to make an honest tribute to the music of my heroes."
Primary Format - MusicCD
Music GenreBlues
Music Genre PrimaryBlues & Roots

Disc 1

  • 1. Booker's Guitar
  • 2. With My Maker I Am One
  • 3. Flood Water
  • 4. Walkin' Blues Again
  • 5. Sunrise Blues
  • 6. Wayfaring Stranger
  • 7. Train From Aberdeen
  • 8. New Home
  • 9. Nobody's Fault But Mine
  • 10. One Soul To Save
  • 11. Rocking Chair
  • 12. Turning Pages
  • 13. A Good Woman
  • 14. Tell Riley
  • 15. A-Z Blues
Limited Awaiting stock