Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.

view larger
view larger

Ants From Up There (Deluxe Edition)

PLU: 5054429153743
Format - 2CD
Genre - Alternative
Release Date - 04/02/22
Pre-Order Price Guarantee

When you pay for your pre-order upfront and the price drops before release day you will be refunded the difference shortly after release.

When will I get my pre-order?

Deluxe 2CD Edition

Following on almost exactly a year to the day from the release of their acclaimed debut For the first time, Black Country, New Road have harnessed the momentum from that record and run full pelt into their second, with Ants From Up There managing to strike a skilful balance between feeling like a bold stylistic overhaul of what came before, as well as a natural progression.

Their debut For the first time is a certain 2021 Album of the Year, having received ecstatic reviews from critics and fans alike as well as being shortlisted for the prestigious Mercury Music Prize. Released in February to extensive, global, critical support - perhaps best summed up by The Times who wrote in their 5/5 review that they were "the most exciting band of 2021" and The Observer who called their record "one of the best albums of the year" - the album made a significant dent on the UK Albums Chart where it landed at #4 in its first week, a remarkable achievement for a largely experimental debut record.

With For the first time the band melded klezmer, post-rock, indie and an often intense spoken word delivery. On Ants From Up There they have expanded on this unique concoction to create a singular sonic middle ground that traverses classical minimalism, indie-folk, pop, alt rock and a distinct tone that is already unique to the band.

Recorded at Chale Abbey Studios, Isle Of Wight, across the summer with the band’s long-term live engineer Sergio Maschetzko, it’s also an album that comes loaded with a deep-rooted conviction in the end result. “We were just so hyped the whole time,” says Hyde. “It was such a pleasure to make. I've kind of accepted that this might be the best thing that I'm ever part of for the rest of my life. And that's fine.”

Primary Format - MusicCD
LabelNinja Tune
Music Genre PrimaryAlternative


  • 1. Intro
  • 2. Chaos Space Marine
  • 3. Concorde
  • 4. Bread Song
  • 5. Good Will Hunting
  • 6. Haldern
  • 7. Marks Theme
  • 8. The Place Where He Inserted the Blade
  • 9. Snow Globes
  • 10. Basketball Shoes


  • 1. Marks Theme (Live from the Queen Elizabeth Hall)
  • 2. Instrumental (Live from the Queen Elizabeth Hall)
  • 3. Athens France (Live from the Queen Elizabeth Hall)
  • 4. Science Fair (Live from the Queen Elizabeth Hall)
  • 5. Sunglasses (Live from the Queen Elizabeth Hall)
  • 6. Track X (Live from the Queen Elizabeth Hall)
  • 7. Opus (Live from the Queen Elizabeth Hall)
  • 8. Bread Song (Live from the Queen Elizabeth Hall)
  • 9. Basketball Shoes (Live from the Queen Elizabeth Hall)
$37.99 + DELIVERY FROM $1.99
Add to Wishlist
Release Date - 04/02/22
Release Date - 04/02/22
Available Pre-order online

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.