Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.



PLU: 28948191017
Format - CD
Genre - Classical
Release Date - 18/09/20
5.0 (1)

Andrew Blanch and Ariel Nurhadi are "two stunning young guitarists" (Sydney Arts Guide) who have been performing together since 2014, touring as a duo as well as with baritone José Carbó in The José Carbó Trio. They have been described as "breathtaking" (Canberra Critics Circle), and praised for their "dazzling guitar playing" (ArtsHub).

Alchemy, their debut recording, takes us on a journey through history and around the world, through beloved works by Debussy, Rameau, Piazzolla, Albeniz, Falla and Granados. The album also features the acclaimed Three Duets by the late Australian guitarist and composer Phillip Houghton – including Alchemy, the first piece that Andrew and Ariel performed as a duo and the piece after which this album is named.

This is a gorgeous album, full of classic pieces beautifully performed, and announces major new stars in the already-glittering galaxy of Australia's classical guitar community.


Piazzolla Tango Suite
1. I. Deciso
2. II. Andante
3. III. Allegro 
4. Debussy Clair De Lune  
5. Debussy Cakewalk  
6. Falla Danza From La Vida Breve
7. Albeniz Evocacio?n From Iberia

Rameau Pieces De Clavecin (1724)
8. Le Rappel Des Oiseaux
9. Musette En Rondeau
10. Rigaudons 1 & 2
11. Allemande
12. Les Cyclopes
13. Granados Intermezzo From Goyescas
14. Gnattali Chiquinha Gonzaga (Corta Jaca)

Houghton Three Duets
15. I. The Mantis And The Moon
16. II. Lament
17. III. Alchemy

18. Madlem Monte Carlo

Primary Format - MusicCD
LabelAbc Classics
Music GenreClassical
Music Genre PrimaryClassical
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
Add to Wishlist

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.