Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


April Uprising

PLU: 9324690040292
Format - CD
Genre - Pop & Rock
Release Date - 26/03/10

Not yet reviewed.

Here's the thing about revolution-it's ever present. It doesn't end with the dreams of a former generation, nor is it waiting at the end of some rainbow. It's not an end at all, in fact, but a constantly renewing beginning. 'Revolution' is also track one on John Butler's new album, 'APRIL UPRISING', his first studio offering in three years since the much acclaimed 'Grand National'. "April Uprising is a metaphor for transformation," John says. "April was the month when this huge period of change in my life manifested in the foundations of this album. That was when I realised what I needed to do and started playing with Nicky and Byron. That was an uprising in itself and not one that was taken lightly." John explains. The announcement of a new John Butler Trio with Nicky Bomba on drums and Byron Luiters on bass, was a surprise for those who were turned on to John's music through his globally successful 'Grand National' album of 2007. For music lovers who have known him longer - maybe since his '98 debut, or his multi-platinum 'Three' and 'Sunrise Over Sea' albums - renewal and revolution have always been constant in his band and his music. This rebirth was the culmination of an especially momentous period in his life. It began with the seemingly innocuous acts of cutting his hair and taking a few months off in late 2008. John's bond with his brother-in-law, Nicky Bomba, one of Australia's most inventive and experienced drummers, had been proven with his drumming role on the studio album, 'Sunrise Over Sea'. Less expected was the undeniable chemistry they found with Sydney bassist Byron Luiters, sealed in a single jam in John's new Fremantle studio back in February 2009. 'APRIL UPRISING' is John's most focused, diverse and accessible album to date, showcasing innovative sounds from the trippy steel drum detail on 'Take Me' to the roaring radio chorus of 'To Look Like You'; the tender ache of 'Steal It' and 'Fool For You' to the rustic folk of 'Ragged Mile' and the hysterical rock attack of 'C'mon Now', to the second single , a rock disco classic 'Close To You' where John lets rip with the electric Telecaster . Between the epic opening track 'Revolution' and a whispered acoustic coda 'A Star is Born', dedicated to John's son, 'APRIL UPRISING' is an album that combines the personal, the political and the musically memorable with skill and passion.
Primary Format - MusicCD
Music GenrePop
Music Genre PrimaryPop & Rock

Disc 1

  • 1. Revolution
  • 2. One Way Road
  • 3. C'mon Now
  • 4. I'd Do Anything
  • 5. Ragged Mile
  • 6. Johnny's Gone
  • 7. Close To You
  • 8. Don't Wanna See Your Face
  • 9. Take Me
  • 10. Fool For You
  • 11. To Look Like You
  • 12. Steal It
  • 13. Mystery Man
  • 14. Gonna Be A Long Time
  • 15. A Star Is Born
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
Add to Wishlist

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.