Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Born Under Saturn

PLU: 9397601002719

Django Django release their new album, 'Born Under Saturn,' via Because Music!

Django Django release their new album, 'Born Under Saturn,' via Because Music!

Format - CD
Genre - Pop & Rock
Release Date - 01/05/15

Not yet reviewed.

Django Django release their new album, 'Born Under Saturn,' via Because Music!

The album's opening single, "First Light," begins with a huge, growling, wobbling bassline, slapping the listener in the face from the off, showing us Django Django are back and mean business. 

'Born Under Saturn' is the work of a band fired up by confidence and experience and propelled way beyond their DIY roots. It has all of the imagination of their debut self-titled album but splashed across a larger canvas. "Once we got into the studio it became obvious it would be a bigger-sounding record," says bassist Jim Dixon.

"When we were writing the lyrics there were lots of references to rebirth, turning a new page and starting something again," says drummer and producer Dave Maclean. "I guess that's something we all felt."

Recorded at Netil House in east London and Angelic Studios in Banbury, 'Born Under Saturn' saw the song writing split four ways with Dave also producing the record. Lyrics often emerged naturally from the sound of the music. There are dark dramas like "Found You," which draws on the myth of Faust's deal with the devil, and "Shot Down," a bloody tale of crime and betrayal. Jim wrote the sighingly beautiful "Beginning to Fade" while contemplating writer's block and the atmospheric, synth-driven "High Moon," says Dave, is about people who "come alive at night."

'Born Under Saturn' expands on the slippery, indefinable brilliance of the group's debut, finding magic in the unexplored spaces between different kinds of music, and never doing the same thing twice.

"We thought we'd sell to little pockets of people and set up our own live shows in art spaces," says Dave. "We never thought it would end up the way it did. Once that happens, you have to keep pushing. You can't sit still."

Primary Format - MusicCD
LabelBecause Music
Music GenrePop
Music Genre PrimaryPop & Rock


  • 1. Giant
  • 2. Shake And Tremble
  • 3. Found You
  • 4. First Light
  • 5. Pause Repeat
  • 6. Reflections
  • 7. Vibrations
  • 8. Shot Down
  • 9. High Moon
  • 10. Beginning To Fade
  • 11. 4000 Years
  • 12. Break The Glass
  • 13. Life We Know
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
Add to Wishlist

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.