Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Workingmans Dead (50th Anniversary Edition)

PLU: 603497846986
Format - 3CD
Genre - Pop & Rock
Release Date - 31/07/20

Not yet reviewed.

Temporarily unavailable online
Due to very high demand, this product is currently unavailable for online purchase.

A departure from Grateful Dead's historically psychedlic & experimental works, Workingman's Dead brought the songcraft of Jerry Garcia & Robert Hunter to the forefront in this now iconic Americana album, which will celebrate it's 50th Anniversary on June 14, 2020.

In June 1970, the Grateful Dead released an album that was unlike anything they'd ever done, showing the world a side of the Dead that was clearly the same band as their four previous albums, but with a distinctly different sound and approach to music. While the first three studio albums, plus Live/Dead, REALLY appealed to those to whom it appealed, the Dead didn't yet have the mass breakthrough that would see the entire music-loving world take notice.

That Rolling Stone magazine named Workingman's Dead the best album of 1970 is very telling. Released alongside 1970 classics by The Doors, Miles Davis, John Lennon, The Beach Boys, The Velvet Underground, Derek and the Dominos, and their own WORKINGMAN'S DEAD, it was WORKINGMAN'S DEAD that made the world aware of this band of misfits from the Bay Area. With eight perfect songs, the world was hearing a new Grateful Dead. Fifty years on, every one of the eight songs on WORKINGMAN'S DEAD sounds fresh, alive, and new.

The show was mixed from the 16-track analog master tapes by Jeffrey Norman at Bob Weir's Marin County TRI Studios and mastered by Grammy® Award-winning engineer, David Glasser. Liner Notes written by acclaimed music journalist David Fricke.

Primary Format - MusicCD
LabelRBDO 2171
Music GenreRock
Music Genre PrimaryPop & Rock


  • 1. Uncle John's Band
  • 2. High Time
  • 3. Dire Wolf
  • 4. New Speedway Boogie
  • 5. Cumberland Blues
  • 6. Black Peter
  • 7. Easy Wind
  • 8. Casey Jones

CD2: Capitol Theatre, Port Chester, NY (2/21/71) Set 1

  • 1. Cold Rain And Snow
  • 2. Me And Bobby Mcgee
  • 3. Loser
  • 4. Easy Wind
  • 5. Playing In The Band
  • 6. Bertha
  • 7. Me And My Uncle
  • 8. Ripple
  • 9. Next Time You See Me
  • 10. Sugar Magnolia
  • 11. Greatest Story Ever Told
  • 12. Johnny B. Goode

CD3: Capitol Theatre, Port Chester, NY (2/21/71) Set 2

  • 1. China Cat Sunflower
  • 2. I Know You Rider
  • 3. Bird Song
  • 4. Cumberland Blues
  • 5. I'm A King Bee
  • 6. Beat It On Down The Line
  • 7. Wharf Rat
  • 8. Truckin'
  • 9. Casey Jones
  • 10. Good Lovin'
  • 11. Uncle John's Band
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
$52.99 + DELIVERY FROM $1.99
Add to Wishlist
Unavailable Temporarily unavailable online

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.