Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Empire Of The Blind

PLU: 727361317928
Format - CD
Genre - Metal
Release Date - 18/09/20
Pre-Order Price Guarantee

When you pay for your pre-order upfront and the price drops before release day you will be refunded the difference shortly after release.

When will I get my pre-order?

Not yet reviewed.

Please note that due to manufacturing/distributing issues, stock is delayed. Stock is expected to arrive in store & online 02/10/2020. Expected date is subject to change

Bay Area thrash legends Heathen are back! New album, Empire of the Blind, picks up where the group's vaunted trio of full-lengths—Breaking the Silence (1987), Victims of Deception (1991), and The Evolution of Chaos (2010)—left off, but pushes the limits of aggression, melody, and heaviness.

Indeed, the idea behind Empire of the Blind was an all-eras full-length, one that had a distinct attitude complemented by shorter, more focused songwriting. Essentially, classic Heathen but with updated musical proficiency and economy. Penned by guitarist/songwriter Kragen Lum between 2012 and 2019 at the six-stringer's studio, Empire of the Blind is a thrash metal tour de force.

Conceptually, Empire of the Blind is a big metaphor for modern society, one run by social media, the power of immediacy, the persuasiveness of emotion, and how an empire (or nation) can so easily slip into complacency and groupthink. Songs like "This Rotting Sphere," "The Blight," "Blood to Be Let," and the expansive, riff-splosive title track work to transport the listener into Heathen's view of and comment on our Orwellian devolution. But the lyrics on Empire of the Blind are more than frustrated missives on contemporary sociology/anthropology. They're also a lens into Heathen's personal triumphs and travails.

Primary Format - MusicCD
LabelNuclear Blast
Music GenreThrash Metal
Music Genre PrimaryMetal


  • 1. The Rotting Sphere
  • 2. The Blight
  • 3. Empire Of The Blind
  • 4. Dead And Gone
  • 5. Sun In My Hand
  • 6. Blood To Be Let
  • 7. In Black
  • 8. Shrine Of Apathy
  • 9. Devour
  • 10. A Fine Red Mist
  • 11. The Gods Divide
  • 12. Monument To Ruin
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
$20.99 + DELIVERY FROM $1.99
Add to Wishlist
Release Date - 18/09/20
Release Date - 18/09/20
Available Pre-order online

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.