Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Hope Amid Tears - Beethoven: Cello Sonatas

PLU: 194398837321
Format - 3CD
Genre - Classical
Release Date - 25/06/21

Not yet reviewed.

Yo-Yo Ma and long-time friend and musical partner Emanuel Ax reunite for Hope Amid Tears, a new recording of Beethoven's complete works for cello and piano, on Sony Classical.

Hope Amid Tears presents Beethoven's five sonatas for cello and piano in the order in which they were composed, tracing an important arc in Beethoven's development and approach as a composer. Joining them are Beethoven's three sets of variations for cello and piano.

"When we look to music to give us hope for the future, to believe that we can survive and to do good, it is invariably to Beethoven's," says Ax. "His mastery of musical craft was second to none, of course, but it is his indomitable spirit in the face of personal tragedy that makes him unique. In this period of world-wide unease, grief, and suffering, it is perhaps fitting that we are also celebrating the 250th birthday of the composer who represents what is best in our humanity."

Ma and Ax have made music together for more than 40 years, recording dozens of albums, earning five Grammy Awards, and performing on stages all over the world. Their friendship is not only rooted in a deep love of music, but also a shared sense of humor and keen perspectives on life's joys and challenges. Hope Amid Tears is their second recording of the complete Beethoven cello sonatas, after a 1987 effort that earned the duo their second Grammy.


Sonata No.1 in F Major, Op. 5 No. 1
1. Adagio sostenuto – Allegro
2. Rondo: Allegro Vivace

Sonata No.2 in G minor, Op. 5 No. 2
3. Adagio sostenuto e espressivo - Allegro molto piu tosto presto
4. Rondo: Allegro

Sonata No.3 in A Major, Op. 69
1. Allegro ma non tanto
2. Scherzo
3. Adagio cantabile - Allegro vivace
Sonata No.4 in C Major, Op. 102 No.1
4. Andante - Allegro vivace
5. Adagio - Allegro vivace
Sonata No.5 in D Major, Op. 102 No. 2
6. Allegro con brio
7. Adagio con molto sentimento d'affetto
8. Allegro

1. 7 Variations on "Bei Mannern, welche Liebe fuhlen", WoO 46
2. 12 Variations on a Theme from Handel's Judas Maccabaeus, WoO 45
3. 12 Variations in F major on "Ein Madchen oder Weibchen", Op.66

Primary Format - MusicCD
Music GenreClassical
Music Genre PrimaryClassical
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
Add to Wishlist

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.