Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Stories To Tell: Greatest Hits And More

PLU: 4050538688368
Format - 2CD
Genre - Pop & Rock
Release Date - 02/07/21
4.0 (1)

Legendary musician Richard Marx offers an enlightening, entertaining look at his life and career.

Richard Marx is one of the most accomplished singersongwriters in the history of popular music. His self-titled 1987 album went triple platinum and made him the first male solo artist (and second solo artist overall after Whitney Houston) to have four singles from their debut crack the top three on  the Billboard Hot 100. His follow-up, 1989’s Repeat Offender, was an even bigger smash, going quadruple platinum and landing two singles at number one. He has written fourteen number one songs in total, shared a Song of the Year Grammy with Luther Vandross, and collaborated with a variety of artists including NSYNC, Josh Groban, Natalie Cole, and Keith Urban. Lately, he’s also become a Twitter celebrity thanks to his outspokenness on social issues and his ability to out-troll his trolls.

In STORIES TO TELL, Marx uses this same engaging, straighttalking style to look back on his life and career. He writes of how Kenny Rogers changed a single line of a song he’d written for him then asked for a 50% cut—which inspired Marx to write one of his biggest hits. He tells the uncanny story of how he wound up curled up on the couch of Olivia Newton-John, his childhood crush, watching Xanadu. He shares the tribulations of working with the all-female hair metal band Vixen and appearing in their video. Yet amid these entertaining celebrity encounters, Marx offers a more sobering  assessment of the music business as he’s experienced it over four decades—the challenges of navigating greedy executives and grueling tour schedules, and the rewards of connecting with thousands of fans at sold-out shows that make all the drama worthwhile. He also provides an illuminating look at his songwriting process and talks honestly about how his personal life has inspired his work, including finding love with wife Daisy Fuentes and the mystery illness that recently struck him—and that doctors haven’t been able to solve.

STORIES TO TELL is a remarkably candid, wildly entertaining memoir about the art and business of music.

Primary Format - MusicCD
Music Genre PrimaryPop & Rock


  • 1. Dont Mean Nothing
  • 2. Shouldve Known Better
  • 3. Endless Summer Nights
  • 4. Hold On to the Nights
  • 5. Satisfied
  • 6. Right Here Waiting
  • 7. Angelia
  • 8. Keep Coming Back
  • 9. Hazard
  • 10. Way She Loves Me
  • 11. Through My Veins
  • 12. Whatever We Started
  • 13. Eyes On Me
  • 14. When You Loved Me
  • 15. Another One Down


  • 1. Shouldve Known Better (Demo) Recorded in 1984
  • 2. Endless Summer Nights (Demo) Recorded in 1984
  • 3. Edge of a Broken Heart (Live) Recorded in 1989
  • 4. Arrow Through My Heart Recorded in 1988
  • 5. Right Here Waiting (Demo) Recorded in 1988
  • 6. Hazard (Demo) Recorded in 1991
  • 7. Better Life (Live) Recorded in 2012
  • 8. Crazy New 2021 Recording
  • 9. This I Promise You Recorded in 2002
  • 10. To Where You Are (Live) Recorded in 2010
  • 11. Dance With My Father Recorded in 2018
  • 12. Take Me Down Recorded in 2019
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
Add to Wishlist

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.