Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Blue Hearts

PLU: 673855073026
Format - CD
Genre - Alternative
Release Date - 25/09/20
5.0 (1)

In 2019, Bob Mould bucked the era's despair with his melodic, upbeat album Sunshine Rock. Cut to spring 2020, and he has this to say: "We're really in deep shit now."

That sentiment informs his new full-length album, Blue Hearts, the raging-but-catchy yin to Sunshine Rock's yang. To be sure, we were in some shit in 2018, when Mould recorded Sunshine Rock. Back then, he had a song called "American Crisis" that didn't fit the album.

"That song is the seed for what we're talking about now," Mould says from his home in San Francisco during the COVID-19 lockdown. Recorded at the famed Electrical Audio in Chicago with Beau Sorenson engineering and Mould producing, Blue Hearts nods to Mould's past while remaining firmly planted in the issues of the day. Acoustic opener "Heart on My Sleeve" catalogues the ravages of climate change. "Next Generation" worries for who comes next. "American Crisis" references "Evangelical ISIS" and features this dagger of a line: "Pro-life, pro-life until you make it in someone else's wife."

Primary Format - MusicCD
LabelMerge Records
Music GenreAlternative
Music Genre PrimaryAlternative


  • 1. Heart On My Sleeve
  • 2. Next Generation
  • 3. American Crisis
  • 4. Fireball
  • 5. Forecast Of Rain
  • 6. When You Left
  • 7. Siberian Butterfly
  • 8. Everyth!Ng To You
  • 9. Racing To The End
  • 10. Baby Needs A Cookie
  • 11. Little Pieces
  • 12. Leather Dreams
  • 13. Password To My Soul
  • 14. The Ocean
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
Add to Wishlist
Limited Awaiting stock

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.