Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Billy Nomates

PLU: 5051083157582
Format - CD
Genre - Alternative

Not yet reviewed.

Billy Nomates, the fierce, funny, outspoken force of nature who hails from Melton Mowbray and now flits between Bournemouth and Bristol, has arrived to rattle cages.

The songs on her debut album all come from a place of defiance. Rebellion against Brexit. Against soul-sapping, dead-end jobs and zero-hours contracts. Against gender inequality, sexual harassment and festivals with obligatory female acts hidden in the small print.

Billy's songs lampoon the same bleak reality satirised by her beloved Scarfolk website and explored so abrasively in the fringe theatre she finds solace in. Musically, there are snatches of Nick Cave's rumbling sprechgesang; the "off-the-wall-ness of musicians like Captain Beefheart"; Sleaford Mods' febrile post-punk; the groovesome lofi art-rock of Sonic Youth; and the brassy Americana of Emmylou Harris.

What dominates, though, is a feeling of release. Of letting it all out. The track 'Supermarket Sweep' features guest vocals by Jason Williamson of Sleaford Mods.

Primary Format - MusicCD
LabelInvada Records
Music Genre PrimaryAlternative


  • 1. Modern Hart
  • 2. Hippy Elite
  • 3. Happy Misery
  • 4. No
  • 5. Supermarket Sweep (Feat. Jason Williamson Of Sleaford Mods)
  • 6. Fnp
  • 7. Mudslinger
  • 8. Call In Sick
  • 9. Fat White Man
  • 10. Wild Arena
  • 11. Escape Artist
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
Add to Wishlist
Limited Awaiting stock

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.