Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Blues Caravan 2019: Katarina Pejak / Ina Forsman / Ally Venable

PLU: 710347127321
Format - CD + DVD
Genre - Blues & Roots
Release Date - 08/11/19

Not yet reviewed.

Temporarily unavailable online
Due to very high demand, this product is currently unavailable for online purchase.

This CD/DVD captures the latest Ruf entourage, focusing on three ladies who run the whole gamut of jazz into blues into rock and soul.

The opener 'They Say I'm Different' with Ina Forsman on lead vocals sets the tone and makes you want to hear more of that sassy, insistent, R&B.

For the rest of the album, each performer gets three songs (five on the DVD) although both Pejak and Venable show their musical flexibility throughout in a band that also includes bassist Roger Inniss and Venable's regular drummer Elijah Owings on drums.

Katarina Pejak showcases her album 'Roads That Cross' although a highlight of her UK set – 'Chasing Summer' – is missing.  Her jazzy blues is attractive and I could see her commanding the spotlight in many a smart café/club venue and increasing her following.

Ally Venable is the non-European in this outing and her bluesy rock is well displayed on songs like 'Texas Honey' and 'Broken' (with great organ accompaniment from Pejak)  although there's a more straight-ahead blues approach on 'Backwater Blues' (on the DVD).

Ina Forsman is perhaps the most assured performer of the trio and in some respects the “MC”.  Naturally, her three songs (five on the DVD) reflect her current album.

The three come together at the end for their take on several blues/R&B standards including 'Love Me Like A Man' and 'I'm A Good Woman' with a particularly passionate vocal from Forsman.  These are great ensemble pieces and a fine way to round off the album.

'Blues Caravan 2019? is a great package and a great showcase for three younger female performers (Ally Venable is only 20!) who will no doubt hone and refine their respective offerings over time

Primary Format - MusicCD
LabelRuf Records
Music GenreBlues
Music Genre PrimaryBlues & Roots

CD 1

  • 1. They say I'm Different
  • 2. She's coming After You
  • 3. Roads That Cross
  • 4. Turtle Blues
  • 5. Texas Honey
  • 6. Nowhere To Hide
  • 7. Broken
  • 8. All Good
  • 9. Miss Mistreated
  • 10. Genius
  • 11. Love Me Like A Man
  • 12. I'm A Good Woman
  • 13. Sixteen Toons
  • 14. The House Is Rockin'


  • 1. Intro Tom
  • 2. They Say I'm Different
  • 3. Roads That Cross
  • 4. Roads That Cross
  • 5. Turtle Blues
  • 6. Old Pain
  • 7. Moonlight Riders
  • 8. Texas Honey
  • 9. Nowhere To Hide
  • 10. Broken
  • 11. Devil's Son
  • 12. Backwater Blues
  • 13. All Good
  • 14. Why You Gotta Be That Way
  • 15. Chains
  • 16. Miss Mistreated
  • 17. Genius
  • 18. Love Me Like A Man
  • 19. I'm A Good Woman
  • 20. Sixteen Tons
  • 21. The House Is Rockin'
  • 22. As The Years Go Passing By
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
$27.99 + DELIVERY FROM $1.99
Add to Wishlist
Unavailable Temporarily unavailable online

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.