Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Emancipation (2019 Edition)

PLU: 190759180525
Emancipation was as expansive an album as anything Prince had ever released.
Emancipation was as expansive an album as anything Prince had ever released.
Format - 3CD
Genre - Pop & Rock
Release Date - 13/09/19

Not yet reviewed.

Emancipation was as expansive an album as anything Prince had ever release. A triple album constituting exactly three hours of music, Emancipation found Prince celebrating the release of music solely on his terms. “This is my most important record,” he proclaimed upon its release. “I’m free, and my music is free.” Much like Paisley Park, the recording complex in which Prince created Emancipation, the album represents the incredible variety of his influences and moods. Romance and family are key themes (“Somebody’s Somebody,” “The Holy River,” “The Love We Make”), reflecting his recent marriage to back-up dancer and muse Mayte Garcia that year. Elsewhere, Prince reflects on technology (“My Computer”) and sex (“In This Bed <0> Scream”), and offers new, upbeat grooves (“Face Down,” “Jam Of The Year”) as well as four unique covers (Bonnie Raitt’s “I Can’t Make You Love Me,” the Philly soul classics “Betcha By Golly Wow” and “La, La, La Means I Love U,” Joan Osborne’s then-recent rock hit “One Of Us”).
Primary Format - MusicCD
LabelSony Music
Music GenrePop
Music Genre PrimaryPop & Rock

CD 1

  • 1. Jam of the Year
  • 2. Right Back Here In My Arms
  • 3. Somebody's Somebody
  • 4. Get Yo Groove On
  • 5. Courtin' Time
  • 6. Betcha By Golly Wow!
  • 7. We Gets Up
  • 8. White Mansion
  • 9. Damned If Eye Do
  • 10. Eye Can't Make U Love Me
  • 11. Mr. Happy
  • 12. In This Bed Eye Scream

CD 2

  • 1. Sex In the Summer
  • 2. One Kiss at a Time
  • 3. Soul Sanctuary
  • 4. Emale
  • 5. Curious Child
  • 6. Dreamin' About U
  • 7. Joint 2 Joint
  • 8. The Holy River
  • 9. Let's Have a Baby
  • 10. Saviour
  • 11. The Plan
  • 12. Friend, Lover, Sister, Mother/Wife

CD 3

  • 1. Slave
  • 2. New World
  • 3. The Human Body
  • 4. Face Down
  • 5. La, La, La Means I Love You
  • 6. Style
  • 7. Sleep Around
  • 8. Da, Da, Da
  • 9. My Computer
  • 10. One of Us
  • 11. The Love We Make
  • 12. Emancipation
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
$54.99 + DELIVERY FROM $1.99
Add to Wishlist

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.