Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.

view larger
view larger

Electrically Possessed [Switched On Vol. 4]

PLU: 5060384618241
Genre - Alternative
Release Date - 26/02/21

Not yet reviewed.

‘Electrically Possessed’ [Switched On Volume 4] is the fourth addition to their Switched On series. This new volume will be released via Warp Records and Duophonic UHF Disks.

Following on from the first volume released in 1992, 1995's Refried Ectoplasm, and 1998's Aluminum Tunes, the long-awaited fourth installment spans 1999 - 2008 in the Stereolab story and collates 3 LPs worth of material, all remastered where possible from the original tapes and overseen by the band. It features all the tracks from out-of-print and sought after mini-album The First Of The Microbe Hunters, one-off and hard to find tour 7"s, compilation tracks, art installation work and a couple of unreleased outtakes from the Mars Audiac Quintet and Dots and Loops recording sessions.

“Dimension M2” was first released in 2005 on the Disko Cabine CD compilation. Speaking about the track, Tim Gane explains: “After the making of Dots & Loops in which we really loved recording with the computer we wanted to build up our own small home recording studio. We bought an Apple desktop computer, a MOTU sound card and Logic 2 software and started to record very simple tracks mainly using samples as inspiration and overlaying them with some guitar, keyboards, and more often than not, Laetitia and Mary would add often wordless vocals. Personally it was the cutting and chopping up of sounds and rhythms that I liked, trying to make little pulse-y songs that were much smaller and simpler than the main Stereolab recordings. Most of these tracks ended up either on tour singles or compilations. Dimension M2 went onto a compilation LP from our friends Paul & Hervé who had their own design company called Cabine. I wanted to do something upbeat and party-ish for them and this was as close as i could get to that kind of thing - still a bit cool and detached though.”

Primary Format - MusicCD
LabelWarp Records / Duophonic UHF Disks
Music Genre PrimaryAlternative

CD 1

  • 1. Outer Bongolia
  • 2. Intervals
  • 3. Barock-Plastic
  • 4. Nomus Et Phusis
  • 5. I Feel The Air {Of Another Planet}
  • 6. Household Names
  • 7. Retrograde Mirror Form
  • 8. Solar Throw-Away [Original version]
  • 9. Pandora's Box Of Worms
  • 10. L'exotisme Interieur

CD 2

  • 1. The Super-It
  • 2. Jump Drive Shut-Out
  • 3. Explosante Fixe
  • 4. Fried Monkey Eggs [Instrumental version]
  • 5. Monkey Jelly
  • 6. B.U.A
  • 7. Free Witch and No Bra Queen
  • 8. Heavy Denim Loop Pt 2
  • 9. Variation One
  • 10. Monkey Jelly [Beats]
  • 11. Dimension M2
  • 12. Solar Throw-Away
  • 13. Calimero
  • 14. Fried Monkey Eggs [Vocal]
  • 15. Speck Voice
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
Add to Wishlist
Limited Awaiting stock

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.