Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Lock Up Your Mothers... Live

PLU: 934334405692
Aztec Records brings you two previously unreleased concerts from the last great Aztecs tour!
Aztec Records brings you two previously unreleased concerts from the last great Aztecs tour!
Format - 2CD
Genre - Pop & Rock
Release Date - 24/03/17
5.0 (1)

Aztec Records brings you two previously unreleased concerts from the last great Aztecs tour!

The year 1994 proved to be a golden time for fans of one of Australia's greatest rock 'n' rollers, Billy Thorpe. He was at his most visible since the 1970s heyday of the Aztecs, when he was the leader of the loudest, rip-roarin'-est, good-time party band in the land, the King of Sunbury and the country's favourite larrikin rocker.

The original 3-CD box set Lock Up Your Mothers had been a huge success, a Top 10 seller in August 1994, and it helped launch a Thorpie revival to rival the peak of his popularity during the 1970s. His return resulted in front page newspaper articles and extensive television coverage, culminating in appearances on such top rating shows as Hey Hey It's Saturday, Denton and 60 Minutes.

Riding on a wave of nostalgia, Thorpie took the Aztecs on the road for the successful Lock Up Your Mothers national tour over the 1994/95 summer. With the repertoire based around such tried and tested Aztecs material as 'Momma', 'Be-Bop-A-Lula', 'Rock Me Baby', 'Most People I Know Think That I'm Crazy' and 'C.C. Rider', the band couldn't put a foot wrong and audiences went home completely energised and ecstatic.

But that wasn't all; occasionally they added in the welcome ballad 'Over The Rainbow' and Warren Morgan's pounding rocker 'Captain Straightman' to spice up the night. The regular mid-set featured versions of 'The Sky Is Crying', an old Elmore James number that Stevie Ray Vaughan had made his own, and Fleetwood Mac's 'World Turning'.

The two concerts presented here - from Selina's (Coogee Bay) and Seagulls (Tweed Heads West) - were digitally recorded in December 1994 and now Gil Matthews has completed the remastering of these historic recordings.

With superb sound quality this is powerhouse rock'n'roll from the Kings of Aussie rock, the Sunbury Aztecs grown up and playing at the top of their game.

Primary Format - MusicCD
LabelAztec Music
Music GenreRock
Music Genre PrimaryPop & Rock


  • 1. Momma
  • 2. Be-bop-a-lula
  • 3. Gangster Of Love
  • 4. Rock Me Baby
  • 5. The Sky Is Crying
  • 6. World Turning
  • 7. Over The Rainbow
  • 8. ost People I Know Think That I'm Crazy
  • 9. Oh! Darling
  • 10. C.C. Rider/treat Her Right
  • 1. Introduction By Michael Chugg
  • 2. Momma
  • 3. Be-bop-a-lula
  • 4. Gangster Of Love
  • 5. Rock Me Baby
  • 6. The Sky Is Crying
  • 7. Captain Straightman
  • 8. World Turning
  • 9. C.C. Rider
  • 10. Most People I Know Think That I'm Crazy
  • 11. Oh! Darling
  • 12. Ooh Poo Pa Doo
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
Add to Wishlist
Limited Awaiting stock

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.