Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Dave Hamilton's Detroit Soul Vol 2

PLU: 29667244022
The cottage industry that was Dave Hamilton's studio has revealed more high quality soul tracks from the plentiful stash of tapes!
The cottage industry that was Dave Hamilton's studio has revealed more high quality soul tracks from the plentiful stash of tapes!
Format - CD
Genre - Funk & Soul
Release Date - 27/11/15

Not yet reviewed.

The cottage industry that was Dave Hamilton's studio has revealed more high quality soul tracks from the plentiful stash of tapes.

This year's offerings include some names not just restricted to the Detroit area. Carolyn Franklin, Aretha's sister, recorded four albums for RCA between 1969 and 1976 (see CDKEND 265). By the early 80s she was semi-retired from secular singing and caring for her father Reverend CL Franklin who had been shot and suffered a five-year coma. His church the New Bethel Missionary Baptist Church was across the road from Dave Hamilton's home and basement studios, which explains how a singing star came to record at the inauspicious location.

Buddy Lamp was a Detroiter who recorded extensively, having almost twenty 45s out under his name on labels as big as Duke and ABC. His recordings with Dave Hamilton were made in the mid-70s. The Dynamics were a celebrated Detroit group who had national releases and several R&B hits; they recorded a superb mid-tempo harmony soul song with Dave in the early 80s. Possibly the most famous act of them all was included as a member of the female vocal group the Del Phis; Martha Reeves who soon had everybody dancing. Motown fans will also be pleased to hear Rita DuShay's original recording of 'Steal Away', written by Dave with Clarence Paul and sung by Barbara McNair on her 1966 Motown LP.

Dave's own roster of acts provide many of the tracks: Little Ann's funky 'I Gotta Have You' has only appeared on a Kent 45 (now deleted). Chico & Buddy's TCB release 'Party Time' gets its first Ace release. Its flip was Dave's own in-demand instrumental 'Cracklin' Bread' featured here with some previously unheard vocal overdubs which take it to a new level. His 'When I Say Groove' is another exciting discovery. The big, growling voice of O.C. Tolbert gives us a new-to-Kent song, 'Love Bandit', and also a very alternate long rap intro to 'All I Want Is You'.

Dave's gospel and blues talents are revealed with Glemie 'Blues Boy' Derrell's TCB 45 'Four O'Clock Blues' and Little Stevie Reynolds' awesome Demo Ristic single 'Moving On'.

There are new vocal group offerings from Nightchill and Anxiety and fine female vocals from Elaine Porter and Bobbie Dee. Tobi Lark's 'Challenge My Love' is in re-mastered multi-track quality with an extended finish while the esteemed vocal group the Tokays give their version of Dave's classic 'Marriage Is Just A State Of Mind

Primary Format - MusicCD
LabelKent Soul
Music GenreSoul
Music Genre PrimaryFunk & Soul
Music Genre SecondaryCompilation


  • 1. My Sweet Baby Inst - Jt's Rhythm Band
  • 2. Remember Me - Jimmy Scott
  • 3. When I Say Groove - Dave Hamilton
  • 4. Cracklin' Bread W Vocals - Dave Hamilton
  • 5. Mister Fireman - Bobbie Dee
  • 6. Love Me Or Leave Me - Anxiety
  • 7. Packing - Carolyn Franklin
  • 8. Party Time - Chico & Buddy
  • 9. Surely - The Dynamics
  • 10. Must Have Had Company - Elaine Porter
  • 11. Four O'clock Blues - Glemie (Blue Boy) Derrell & The Detroit Dynamite Blues Boys
  • 12. The Dreamer - Freddie Mangum
  • 13. I Gotta Have You - Little Ann
  • 14. Moving On - Little Stevie & The Sensational Reynolds Singers
  • 15. Love Don't Let Me Down - Nightchill
  • 16. Love Bandit - O C Tolbert
  • 17. All I Want Is You Long Rap Version - Oc Tolbert
  • 18. Somebody Is Wrong - Buddy Lamp Aka Presberry
  • 19. You Fool, You Fooled Me (Pt 1) - Prophet & The Disciples
  • 20. Steal Away Tonight - Rita Dushay
  • 21. Showdown Part 1 - Simon Barbee & The Barbabes
  • 22. It Takes Two - The Del-phis
  • 23. Challenge My Love Extended Version - Tobi Lark
  • 24. Marriage Is Only A State Of Mind - Tokays
  • 25. I'm Shooting High - Dave Hamilton (Vocal)
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
Add to Wishlist
Limited Awaiting stock

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.