Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Rock Bottom Rhapsody (Vinyl)

PLU: 607396537013
Genre - Country
Release Date - 10/04/20

Not yet reviewed.

In early 2018, LaFarge - searching for the sort of artistic freedom and inspiration he wasn’t finding in the Midwest - relocated from his longtime home base of St. Louis, Missouri, to Los Angeles, California. New songs came quickly to LaFarge in his new environment but new temptations soon found him, as well. Though he declines to get into specifics, LaFarge admits that he experienced a significant “fall from grace” during the last months of 2018. “Things sort of started to unravel in my mind.”

Recorded primarily at Reliable Recorders on Chicago’s Northwest side, ‘Rock Bottom Rhapsody’ was produced by LaFarge’s friend and collaborator Chris Seefried (who also cowrote several of the album’s tracks) and features the considerable talents of guitarist Joel Paterson, keyboardist Scott Ligon, upright/electric bassist Jimmy Sutton and drummer Alex Hall. Musically, LaFarge continues to mix and match a wide variety of styles and traditions, while never losing track of his own vision “This record is kind of like Roy Orbison and Bob Dylan hanging out with chanson singers and French jazz bands in like the forties, but I was never trying to make it sound like a particular person.”

Despite the trying period that preceded its recording, ‘Rock Bottom Rhapsody’ is ultimately far more uplifting and life-affirming than its title would suggest. “That desperation, that struggle,” LaFarge ponders, “Did it add something to the record? It certainly did. I mean, I don’t know if it made it better; it just is what it is. It’s not up to me to decide if people are going to feel that...”.

Primary Format - MusicVinyl
LabelNew West
Music GenreCountry
Music Genre PrimaryCountry
Music Genre SecondaryFolk


  • 1. Rock Bottom Rhapsody
  • 2. End Of My Rope
  • 3. Fuck Me Up
  • 4. Bluebird
  • 5. Rock Bottom Reprise
  • 6. Lucky Sometimes
  • 7. Carry On
  • 8. Just The Same
  • 9. Fallen Angel
  • 10. Storm-A-Comin
  • 11. Aint Comin Home
  • 12. Lost In The Crowd
  • 13. Rock Bottom Finale
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
Add to Wishlist

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.