Boarding House Reach

Model: 19075818932

SKU: 570746 Product ID: 876633


Add to Cart


    'Boarding House Reach' sees Jack White expanding his musical palate with perhaps his most ambitious work thus far, a collection of songs that are simultaneously timeless and modern.

    Written and conceived while holed up in a spartan apartment with literally no outside world distractions, White exclusively used the same kind of gear he had when he was 15 years old (a quarter-inch four-track tape recorder, a simple mixer, and the most basic of instrumentation).

    The album explores a remarkable range of sonic terrain: crunching rock 'n' roll, electro and hard funk, proto punk, hip hop, gospel blues, and even country, all remapped and born anew to fit White's matchless vision and sense of restless experimentation. 'Boarding House Reach' is a testament to the breadth of Jack White's creative power and his bold artistic ambition.

    'Boarding House Reach' features White on vocals, acoustic and electric guitars and drums, organ, and synthesizers. He's backed by a remarkable new lineup of musicians that includes: drummer Louis Cato (Beyoncé, Q-Tip, John Legend, Mariah Carey), bassists Charlotte Kemp Muhl (The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) and NeonPhoenix (Kanye West, Lil Wayne, Jay-Z), synthesizer players DJ Harrison and Anthony "Brew" Brewster (Fishbone, The Untouchables), keyboardists Neal Evans (Soulive, Talib Kweli, John Scofield) and Quincy McCrary (Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Pitbull), percussionists Bobby Allende (David Byrne, Marc Anthony) and Justin Porée (Ozomatli), and backing vocalists Esther Rose and Ann & Regina McCrary of Nashville's beloved gospel trio, The McCrary Sisters, as well as longtime collaborators like drummers Daru Jones (Nas, Talib Kweli) and Carla Azar (Autolux, Depeche Mode, Doyle Bramhall II). Singer-songwriter C.W. Stoneking also appears, contributing a stirring spoken word performance to the album's 'Abulia and Akrasia'.

    'Boarding House Reach' was produced by Jack White III and recorded at Third Man Studio in Nashville, TN, Sear Sound in New York, NY, and Capitol Studios in Los Angeles, CA; the album was mixed by Bill Skibbe, Joshua V. Smith, and White at Third Man Studio in Nashville, TN.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - JACK WHITE

    Label - Third Man Records

    Music Genre - Alternative

    Music Genre Primary - Alternative

Track Listing


  1. Connected By Love
  2. Why Walk A Dog?
  3. Corporation
  4. Abulia and Akrasia
  5. Hypermisophoniac
  6. Ice Station Zebra
  7. Over and Over and Over
  8. Everything You've Ever Learned
  9. Respect Commander
  10. Ezmerelda Steals The Show
  11. Get In The Mind Shaft
  12. What's Done Is Done
  13. Humoresque


Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Abstract Experiment In White The third solo outings see's the once predominantly old school rocker expand his musical reach to varying degrees. White, whose mostly pegged himself into the corner of alternative blues throws himself into an experimental sound that encompasses a hefty amount of genres. While the album delivers some classic White such as Connected by Love and the Rage Against inspired Over and Over and Over. Tracks such as Get in the Mind Shaft and multiple of the short interludes may leave rock fans and long time White fanatics scratching there heads. In short, White seems to have used this album as a throw and see what sticks kind of effort. And while it doesn't always stick, its intriguing to see White shaping a new sound even after all these years
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Jack's Back Jack White roaring back into our ears bringing hints of The White Stripes and some cool surprise collaborations make this a must have for a collection
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Every one has one fail Jack White has been batting a perfect game for 15+ years. Everything he has touched is gold. This album has some good tracks but there are some odd, indulgent tracks that brings the album down.
Date published: 2018-04-06
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_3
  • loc_en_AU, sid_570746, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 251ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.