Love's Shadow

Model: IVY139

SKU: 303529 Product ID: 576459

Format - CD

Genre - Pop

Release Date - 27/07/12

  + delivery from $1.69

  • Pick Up?

Add to Cart


    LOVE'S SHADOW is the debut solo album from TOBY MARTIN. Over the course of 10 years and four albums in rock band YOUTH GROUP, the singer and songwriter sometimes experimented with what might be termed 'character' songs: the interior thoughts of impressionistically-sketched protagonists. Toby's first solo outing provided an opportunity to foreground this aspect of his writing.

    The songs on LOVE'S SHADOW were written in various rooms in Sydney and New York and are imbued with a sense of place. The Gold Coast, Kings Cross, motel rooms, bedrooms, under Moreton Bay Figs, the view through apartment windows, airports, harbours at night. The characters that inhabit these places are invariably lost and lonely - wounded by love, but, despite their better judgement, romantics. These intimate stories were given grandeur and dignity through the album's production and arrangements.
    LOVE'S SHADOW was co-produced and engineered by Toby's long-time friend, YOUTH GROUP collaborator and musical genie Tim Kevin, who also did many of the string arrangements that lift the songs. Sparse use of drums, piano, acoustic guitar and double bass flesh out the stories and the result is melancholy, sometimes sinister, sometimes darkly humorous, but never depressing.

    "I was keen to make a record unlike Youth Group. While in some ways we couldn't control the result (and of course there are lots of elements that are similar to Youth Group records) we could control the process and we deliberately set out working in ways that I hadn't before. Rather than record the songs live-ish with a band, or build them up from rhythm tracks, we recorded acoustic guide versions of the songs and then built parts around them. The skeleton was made invisible once the flesh and skin had grown. (Sometimes it pops out, breaking through the skin.) There were only two short afternoon rehearsals. We wanted to come up with the parts in the studio."

    Once the songs had shape, Toby called in some special guests to add colour: Bree Van Reyk (of Holly Throsby's band and Synergy) on drums, Amanda Brown (of Go-Betweens and Cleopatra Wong) on violin and oboe, Sarah Kelly (of theredsunband) on backing vocals, Matt Steffen (of Decoder Ring) on double bass and Cameron Emerson-Elliott (of Youth Group and Community Radio) on guitar. The record was mixed in Nashville by Mark Nevers, who has made some of Toby's favourite records by Bonnie 'Prince' Billy and The Silver Jews.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - MARTIN, TOBY

    Label - Ivy League

    Music Genre - Pop

Track Listing

Disc 1

  1. Nylex Nights
  2. Everything At The Same Time
  3. Postcard From Surfers
  4. The Curve Of The Earth
  5. Lead You In
  6. Good Friday
  7. NYC Misses You
  8. Happy Where I Am
  9. End Of The Affair
  10. You'll Never Be Mine
  11. Persian Eyes


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. Products may have been sold below ticketed/advertised price in some stores prior to the discount offer.