A Version Of Now

Model: 88985335372

SKU: 958529 Product ID: 834617

  + delivery from $1.69

  • Click & Collect?
    Not available for Click & Collect

Add to Cart


    After nearly 15 years away from the recording studio, Midnight Oil frontman Peter Garrett announces the details of his debut solo album, 'A Version Of Now.' The chorus of the opening track "Tall Trees" really says it all... "I'm back!"

    As the singer, songwriter, and former politician explains, this is a particularly personal project and one which initially happened by accident.

    "As I was finishing my memoir, melodies and lines kept dropping into my head and, big surprise, I ended up writing a few songs. Once these tunes were out in the sunlight I decided I might as well jump into a studio and record what I had along with a few other bits and pieces I'd always liked"

    In true Garrett style the nine songs on 'A Version Of Now' are an uncompromisingly direct set of tunes. They were tracked over just a few weeks last January at Rancom Street studios in Botany (Sydney) with Canadian born musician and acclaimed producer Burke Reid (Courtney Barnett, The Drones, Sarah Blasko and more). Mixing happened at Harry Vanda's Hercules Studios shortly thereafter making for a raw collection of frank and fearless songs.

    "I wanted to capture my version of now," says Garrett when asked to explain the album title. "The songs are reflections of turbulent decades on the rack, and the people and things that meant the most to me."
    The core band involved in making the album was Martin Rotsey (Midnight Oil) on guitar with Pete Luscombe (RockWiz, Paul Kelly) on drums and Mark Wilson (Jet) on bass. Heather Shannon (The Jezabels) and Jamie Hutchings (Bluebottle Kiss) joined in too as did all three of Peter's daughters - Emily, May and Grace - who sang and played on some of the key tracks.

    'A Version Of Now' takes the listener on a candid remembrance trail; the tone both stridently distinctive and unexpectedly tender, as one of the greatest front men in Australian rock reflects on his motives, his losses and gains and finds his resolve – surprise — utterly unbowed.
    This is Peter Garrett as you've never heard him. Songs of love, songs of home and sweet memories chafe against songs of relentless resistance with, as ever, a steely eye on a better future.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - PETER GARRETT

    Label - Sony Music Australia

    Music Genre - Rock

    Music Genre Primary - Pop & Rock

Track Listing


  1. Tall Trees
  2. I'd Do It Again
  3. No Placebo
  4. Homecoming
  5. Kangaroo Tail
  6. Great White Shark
  7. Only One
  8. Night & Day
  9. It Still Matters


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raw, simple, and outstanding A very personal and direct set of songs, and one in which each track grows on the listener more and more with each listen. "Great White Shark" and "I'd Do It Again" are both catchy and lyrically rich, and all of the songs fit together nearly as a whole. It's not Midnight Oil, but it was never meant to be; rather, it stands firmly and squarely on its own as a deeply rewarding piece of music set in the here and now.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An absolute gem Peter Garrett's first effort in many years has been worth the wait. Musically, quite distinct from the Midnight Oil offerings of yesteryear but there are some great tracks and Garrett's voice still holds that passion from those Halcyon days. Tall Trees, Great White Shark, I'd Do It Again and It Still Matters are crackers! Can't wait for the live show in a few weeks!
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Music from Oz Nice album from the former Midnight Oil frontman. Sounds like the Oils...
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Peter Garrett A version of now I sure hope any future Midnight Oil releases are better than this.What a disappointment.About time you realised you're best work is well and truely in the past.
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great solo debut Great album by Mr Garrett. Oils influences but some personal lyrics from Peter.
Date published: 2016-08-06
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_5
  • loc_en_AU, sid_958529, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbhifi
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at Sydney Airport store.