Warning Your browser version is unsupported. Please update for best experience.


Social Cues

PLU: 190759279229
Cage the Elephant return in 2019 with their new album 'Social Cues!'
Cage the Elephant return in 2019 with their new album 'Social Cues!'
Format - CD
Genre - Alternative
Release Date - 19/04/19

Not yet reviewed.

Cage the Elephant return in 2019 with their new album 'Social Cues!'

Produced by John Hill (Santigold, Florence + The Machine, Portugal. The Man, tUnE-yArDs), the album was recorded at Battle Tapes Recording, Blackbird Studio and Sound Emporium in Nashville and The Village Recording Studio in Los Angeles, mixed by Tom Elmhirst and mastered by Randy Merrill in New York City.

Social Cues is the follow up to their Grammy-winning studio album Tell Me I'm Pretty.

The majority of the material on Social Cues was written during the unravelling of Shultz's relationship. In order make sense of such a difficult experience, he explored the hidden recesses of his psyche, creating characters to tell different parts of his personal story. He explains, "it can be a vehicle to act out things that are hard to confront." He went on to say, "when I'm creating, I try to put myself in a reactive state of improvisational thought. I let images just arise in my mind and wait for it to evoke an emotional response and then when it does, I know I'm on to something. I was watching a lot of Fassbinder films, like World on a Wire and The Bitter Tears of Petra von Kant. I was thinking about their beauty coupled with the graphic surrealism of Aronofsky."

Deeply inspired by punk music, brothers Matt and Brad Shultz began playing music in high-school with fellow students Jared Champion and Daniel Tichenor. Shortly after forming the band, they made the bold move to London to begin their career. Their self-titled debut album gained them international attention, catapulting them up the Billboard Alternative and Rock charts and achieving Platinum certification. Cage the Elephant has released three additional studio albums - 2011's Thank You, Happy Birthday, the Gold-certified Melophobia and the Grammy-winning Tell Me I'm Pretty. 

At radio, Cage The Elephant holds the record for the most #1 Alternative songs of any artist this decade. Their most recent release was their expansive live album, Unpeeled, which found the band performing stripped down and backed by a string quartet and a choir. Based in Nashville, Cage The Elephant is vocalist Matt Shultz, rhythm guitarist Brad Shultz, drummer Jared Champion, bassist Daniel Tichenor, lead guitarist Nick Bockrath and keyboardist Matthan Minster.

Primary Format - MusicCD
Music GenreAlternative
Music Genre PrimaryAlternative


  • 1. Broken Boy
  • 2. Social Cues
  • 3. Black Madonna
  • 4. Night Running
  • 5. Skin and Bones
  • 6. Ready To Let Go
  • 7. House Of Glass
  • 8. Love's The Only Way
  • 9. The War Is Over
  • 10. Dance Dance
  • 11. What I'm Becoming
  • 12. Tokyo Smoke
  • 13. Goodbye
Oops! We couldn't return reviews at the moment.
Please try again.
Add to Wishlist
Available In stock

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. As we negotiate on price, products are likely to have sold below ticketed/advertised price in stores prior to the discount offer. Prices may differ at airport & express stores.