Medicine Man

Model: IR5233CD

SKU: 299042 Product ID: 577017

Format - CD

Release Date - 01/06/12

  + delivery from $1.69

  • Pick Up?

Add to Cart


    Bandleader Lance Ferguson and his nine piece Melbourne outfit The Bamboos have come a long way since forming in 2001. Initially inspired by the instrumental raw funk of the late '60s and early '70s, they made waves internationally and were quickly labelled as one of the greatest funk and soul bands of our time. But while many would be happy to simply soak up the praise and keep on keeping on, The Bamboos have proven that they are more than meets the eye; over four acclaimed albums, their evolution in sound and style has consistently confounded and exceeded expectations, pulling the rug from under the feet of those who like to pigeonhole. With their fifth longplayer 'Medicine Man' now on the horizon, they are about to unveil another revelatory, forward-looking record brimming with fresh ideas, stellar turns, classic song writing and a brand of multi-layered pop they can truly call their own. The current sound of The Bamboos masterfully blends an array of influences from soul, blues and pop to psychedelia, all of which are combined with a perfectly balanced collection of singers on 'Medicine Man'. Hand-picked featured vocalists have always been part of the set-up (previous collaborators include Lyrics Born and Alice Russell), and the calibre of the guests who were keen to sing on this album is testament to the respect that Ferguson has attained as a musician and bandleader. Australian superstars Tim Rogers (You Am I), Megan Washington and Daniel Merriweather, alongside international chart-topping sensation Aloe Blacc, all serve to highlight the pop smarts and expertise that is now at the forefront of Ferguson's songwriting. The powerhouse singer and regular band member Kylie Auldist, who has sung on the previous two albums, contributes four songs, while Melbourne based Ella Thompson adds a new facet to the band's sound with her performance on three tracks and her introduction into the live set-up.


    Primary Format - Music - CD

    Artist - BAMBOOS, THE

    Label - Inertia Recordings

    Music Genre - Funk

Track Listing

Disc 1

  1. I Never
  2. Eliza
  3. I Got Burned
  4. Cut Me Down
  5. Medicine Man
  6. Midnight
  7. What I Know
  8. Where Does The Time Go?
  9. The Wilhelm Scream
  10. Hello Stranger
  11. Window


  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 266ms
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

^Discounts apply to most recent previous ticketed/advertised price. Products may have been sold below ticketed/advertised price in some stores prior to the discount offer.